Chicken Jalfrezi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Made this for my wife the other night...we loved it...defenitly a repeat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Have made this recipe a few times. Really good. My husband loves it. He is from Libya and likes spicy food. Tonight I added sliced carrots and some chick peas to it. I also cut the boneless chicken thighs into chunks. Served it over couscous. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Essed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Verona, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
I can see why people love the recipe, but I realized that I am not a big fan of tumeric and this recipe calls for a lot of it. I might try it again sometime and use less of that spice. Other than that it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
This was wonderful!! I substituted chicken breasts because it's what I had on hand and used 2 tbs regular butter instead of ghee because I misread the recipe and served it over rice and it all turned out fantastic. The chicken was tender and the dish was flavorful and delicious. My only regret is that I didn't think to buy naan to eat with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Very disapointed! i did everything step by step as writen. it was bland and nothing like an INDIAN jalfrezi. i will search for the proper recipe in future. sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
We normally make curries fm scratch fm madhur jaffreys book using lamb shoulder but this requires at least 2.5 hrs cooking time. Today we didn't have the time so made this chicken jalfrezi not expecting it to b as good. How wrong we were, fab little recipe full of spicy flavour, we only used 350 gms of chicken thigh but kept to the same quantity of rest of ingredients except salt (1/2 tsp). Browned onion,chicken,garlic,grated fresh ginger then sprinkled chicken with turmeric,cumin,coriander added toms,salt,2 dried chillis chopped instead of powder and the ghee (u can use butter) then covered n cooked on low for 45 mins, if it loOks Abit watery reduce sauce by removing lid, we added small bunch fresh chopped coriander (cilantro)right at the end of cooking. Served with basmati rice, elephant chapattis warmed (fm local paki shop or asda) and sharwoods mango chutney for nice sweet fruity accompaniment.Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
My whole family loves, loves, loves this recipe!!! I don't change a thing, its perfect the way it is. So flavorful awesome with jasmine rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This is a favorite in my house. Served with naan. Absolutely Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Floral Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Yummy! I added a bell pepper with the onion and garlic then added all the spices before putting in the chicken. It was a good amount of spicy without being too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
5 stars on flavor and ease, but I changed the recipe too much to rate it as such. Like a previous reviewer, I tossed all the ingredients (minus fat), plus some fingerling potatoes (halved) and cauliflower I had leftover, in my slow cooker. After 4 hours on high, we had an incredible meal. Great flavor for so little effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 283) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States