Chicken Jalfrezi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Outstanding! Used chicken breast, replaced all ghee with a little coconut oil, doubled cilantro. Served over roasted cauliflower - SO YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
I made this for the same meal I made the "Pakistani Spicy Chickpeas" recipe from this site and it came out delicious! I did change it a little bit: I used a processor for the onions Cayenne Pepper Powder instead of the chili powder Dried Cilantro leaves instead of fresh The only thing I did wrong was add too much cilantro (turned more green than tomato red) - won't be a mistake I'll be making next time. And yes this is one dish I'll be making again. My hubby loved it! I served this with Persian rice, the Pakistani Chickpeas, and a Persian version of the Naan bread (called Sangak).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
I have made this twice, and I wish I had reviewed it after the first time to help me out the second time around. The first time I made it, it was out of this world. So rich and delicious. I did add green peppers at the beginning with the onion and garlic. When I make it again I will not put in the cilantro because tonight it was all I could taste. To anyone on the fence, this IS worth trying, but I do recommend adding the green pepper and omitting the cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Fabulous! I'm so sick of chicken but not anymore! Followed recipe almost exactly except I've never heard of grating onions... I also added white wine to deglaze the pan before adding the tomatoes. Also added onions first before garlic and cooked on a lower temp as usual. Wonderful! Will make again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Matawan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Made this last night and it was amazing. The only thing I did differently was add some green bell pepper, put in all the spices with the vegetable oil and garlic/onion paste, put in 1/4 tsp of cayenne, and one tablespoon of sambal chili garlic paste for extra heat. I also had to use regular butter instead of ghee, but it was the best Jalfrezi I have ever had. I will definitely be making this a lot more in the future. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Everybody liked it. I did a few changes, though. I ground my whole cumin and coriander and added it after the onions and garlic with half of the ginger at the beginning of the recipe before the chicken to cook the spices and bring out more flavor. I used a chopped serrano chili instead of chili powder along with the garlic and ginger. I would have gone for 2-3 serranos, but one family member doesn't like it very hot. I also used fresh tomatoes chopped up in a food processor instead of a can. Except for those changes, I did it as stated and it was certainly a favorite of everyone at the table. I'm going to do it for friends very soon at a get together. Very delicious, indeed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
One of my favourite recipes and a dish that I make often. I made a few revisions to make this healthier and a great deal spicier: 1.) I do not add ghee. 2.) I use a food processor to process the garlic, onion, and 6-8 fresh Thai chili peppers (with seeds) into a paste like mixture. 3.) I use an entire 28oz can of diced tomatoes and drain a little bit of liquid from the top. 3.) I add 1 diced red pepper, 1 diced yellow pepper, and 4-5 whole Thai chili peppers (tops twisted off) with the tomatoes. 4.) I add a dash of sirachi sauce with the tomatoes and peppers. 5.) I serve this over cauliflower rice when I feel like cutting the carbs. 6.) If you're in the mood for something exceptionally spicy, use fresh habeneros (2-4) instead of Thai chili peppers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Smells and tastes absolutely wonderful. I think even the hubby, who doesn't usually like really spicy food, will like this one. I made this recipe for the first time several week ago. This time, I made it with half chicken and half lentils. It didn't really change the flavor much, but less fat and cholesterol should help my hubby who is trying to lose weight and get his cholesterol down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazyliblady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
used a little less than the whole onion.. didnt have fresh garlic :( so had to use powdered instead.. about 2-3 x as much if woulda been fresh.. halved the turmeric.. added 1/2 t of cayenne pepper like one person suggested.. halved the salt.. didn't use the ghee and cheated like others and "cooked" the spices first.. also didnt realize i had no fresh cilantro.. and dried cilantro is a joke.. but still used it.. im a lemon feind and splashed a bit on.. the dish came out wonderful! would like to try it with the fresh garlic & cilantro next time to see the diff.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Made this for my wife the other night...we loved it...defenitly a repeat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States