Chicken Jalfrezi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
This is a staple around my place. Goes well with white rice and definitely take the others user suggestion of just adding green pepper. Other than that keep it the same!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ardmore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Great recipe! The amounts of each spice was excellent, surprisingly. I only had fresh corriander and powdered ginger as substitutes and I wasn't sure about amounts. I crushed the corriander and added 1 1/2 tsp. For the powdered ginger I added 2tsp. Fresh definately would be better. Also only half the salt was good. I figured you can always add more salt after, but it didn't need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Quesnel, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
If you are tempted not to add the butter, DON'T skip it. It made all the difference. This recipe is delicious and fun for enjoying some exotic flavors. The mixture of spices (which I fried by itself first) and onion I was frying the chicken in seemed dry so I added two cans of tomatoes but one can would have been plenty, just like the recipe says. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
This is a delicious and easy recipe! I added a can a tomato paste, 1/2 cup of coconut milk, and a little cinnamon. I think coconut milk is a great addition, it makes it a little creamier and sweetens it a bit. I will make this again soon... my husband says that it is "company good" this is our term for any new recipe that is tasty enough for guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
Added juice of one lemon, chopped red & green capsicum, omitted the ghee - utterly divine... even my 3 yr old loved it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Very easy to make and the whole family loved it. Have used both the thighs and breasts and the thighs are the winner. They go perfectly with this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danny Lawrence

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
First time making this last night and will not be the last!! This was fabulous and so easy to make. Just need to take a minute to measure all the spices and herbs into a bowl. I sauteed the onions and garlic together in butter then added all the herbs and spices to the pan and gently fried them with the onion/garlic. Added 1/2 tsp of dried chili flakes for a bit of heat. Added the tin of tomatoes then added the remaining garlic, ginger and cilantro. Let that simmer for a good while...adding a bit of tomato puree and water to keep it from drying out. Added cubed chicken breast to the sauce and let it gently simmer in the sauce to cook. The chicken was tender and moist and the sauce divine! As good or better then any jalfrezi I have had in a restaurant...we were delighted and can't wait to have it again. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cottage Grove, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I found the amount and mix of spices in this recipe to be far too overpowering. It's not that it was too spicy, it was just hugely overseasoned. I feel bad about being so harsh but it was truly horrible and a waste of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Køge, Sjælland, Denmark
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Awesome and simple. I didn't mess with the ghee and didn't have any ginger but it was still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
added a jalapeno pepper to spice it up and turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States