Chicken Jalfrezi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
i don't quite know what to think of this. It was good but I expected more rich flavour. Of course the fault was a little bit mine too as I was distracted for a moment and the heat had gone too high and burned it a little. Anyways everything I could taste of this was mostly cumin. Perhaps I need to try this again and see if the flavours would be more in balance if made more carefully :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Turku, Varsinais-Suomi, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Delicious! I didn't have stewed tomatoes so I used some frozen jarred tomatoes from my garden, which made for less juice, so I used some chicken stock. Subbed paprika and cayenne for chili powder, and added some mushrooms and mixed bell peppers. Used regular butter in place of ghee. We were very impressed with the flavor. I served it over quinoa. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
My family loves this recipe! Since I made it the first time, it's become a frequent request...from my 8-YEAR-OLD! I have been getting beautiful tomatoes from my CSA share, so using those instead of canned (I don't bother peeling). Last time I tried adding diced potatoes, so it becomes more of a one-pot stew - the potatoes thicken up the sauce nicely. But the family enjoys it the original way best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Awesome! Mixed all spices, onion, garlic, and ginger together in oil, then added chicken and fried as directed. I also added some chickpeas as I didn't have quite enough chicken. I only had a bigger can of tomatoes and I didn't put it all in but it was more than the recipe amount. Served with Naan bread, chopped green onions, and some sour cream. YUM! I didn't use the ghee as I didn't have any - didn't miss it at all. I think I will substitute chickpeas for the chicken to make this a veggie meal in the future. FYI: flavorful but not too much heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
I thought this was delicious, even better the second day. I added zuchini and squash and used chicken breast chunks instead of thighs. Very flavorful though. It was a hit that I will have to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
BIG hit with the whole family - even my 12 month old gobbled it up (pureed). My husband said it was one of my best dishes ever. The only modification I made was to simmer it for about hour to make the chicken really soft and easy to puree. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
This is a staple around my place. Goes well with white rice and definitely take the others user suggestion of just adding green pepper. Other than that keep it the same!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ardmore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Great recipe! The amounts of each spice was excellent, surprisingly. I only had fresh corriander and powdered ginger as substitutes and I wasn't sure about amounts. I crushed the corriander and added 1 1/2 tsp. For the powdered ginger I added 2tsp. Fresh definately would be better. Also only half the salt was good. I figured you can always add more salt after, but it didn't need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Quesnel, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
If you are tempted not to add the butter, DON'T skip it. It made all the difference. This recipe is delicious and fun for enjoying some exotic flavors. The mixture of spices (which I fried by itself first) and onion I was frying the chicken in seemed dry so I added two cans of tomatoes but one can would have been plenty, just like the recipe says. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
This is a delicious and easy recipe! I added a can a tomato paste, 1/2 cup of coconut milk, and a little cinnamon. I think coconut milk is a great addition, it makes it a little creamier and sweetens it a bit. I will make this again soon... my husband says that it is "company good" this is our term for any new recipe that is tasty enough for guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States