Chicken Jalfrezi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Made for the first time yesterday and we enjoyed it very much. Tastes lovely and the blend of flavors is excellent. Made per recipe with the exception of adding melted butter as I did not have any ghee. Also added two teaspoons of sugar to take away the acidic taste from the tomatoes. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
I agree with one of the reviews that the spices are better roasted/fried first The amount of cumin and all the other spices added towards the end made the curry seem undercooked. I read the recipe and reviews many times to confirm if I was following right or if anyone else had the same problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
This recipe is fantastic! But I did change a few things. I doubled the tomatoes (28 oz). Makes it a little more saucy since the curry reduces down quite a bit as it simmers. I also add "Hot Madras curry powder" and "Garam Masala" at the end when it's done cooking. I usually just add them to taste (about 2 tsp each). YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leianna Dixon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
I had it for the first time about three weeks ago and have made it about four or five times since then. Everyone loved it. The only thing it needed was a little more liquid near the end, and so I added some water. Great dish. If I could aware more stars, I would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Delicious. Very flavorful. Will become a regular at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Very flavorful and lovely on the plate also. I did not add ghee and only used one tablespoon of oil to sauté the onion and garlic. I used more ginger than the recipe called for….because I love ginger…and that was tasty, too. Very easy to prepare and it was a nice enough dish that I would serve to company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Pulled up this recipe last minute and had to make a couple of substitutions but other than that I followed the recipe and it was amazing! I used fresh bell pepper and some frozen peas and added some water instead of canned tomatoes, and used fresh parsley instead of cilantro and also added some chili garlic paste for some extra spice. I definitely will try the original recipe soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I doubled the recipe and made it in my pressure cooker. I added all spices and ingredients except the cilantro which I stirred in at the end. Instead of grating the onions I used my food processor and cut up finely like a paste with the regular s blade. Cooked for 20 minutes and it turned out tender and the meat was infused with the flavor of the spices. No stirring or watching the pot. So easy. Would make again but next time would make spicier as I like better hotter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stone Ridge, New York, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
AMAZING! Only putting 4 stars because I did make some changes. Omitted the ghee, used 2 cans of tomatoes (I like things to be saucy!), and cut back "turmeric", coriander, and cumin by a half teaspoon. I say "turmeric" because I didn't have turmeric but found a sight that says you can sub ground mustard 1:1 ratio along with a pinch of saffron so that's what I did. I'll make it that way every time! Served with brown rice and naan bread. Can't wait to eat the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Made this for the first time tonight for dinner. I used boneless chicken cubes and butter instead of ghee. Also added some multi colored bell peppers towards the end and it actually turned out pretty good. My picky husband actually said it was good enough to pack and take for lunch tomorrow. He didn't think it was Pakistani though, it tasted more Indian. I usually use pre-measured boxed spice packets like Shan when cooking so I wasn't sure how the spices would turn out but it was pretty good. Doesn't beat my butter chicken recipe but definitely wouldn't mind making it again for the hubby :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 278) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States