Chicken Jalfrezi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Pulled up this recipe last minute and had to make a couple of substitutions but other than that I followed the recipe and it was amazing! I used fresh bell pepper and some frozen peas and added some water instead of canned tomatoes, and used fresh parsley instead of cilantro and also added some chili garlic paste for some extra spice. I definitely will try the original recipe soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I doubled the recipe and made it in my pressure cooker. I added all spices and ingredients except the cilantro which I stirred in at the end. Instead of grating the onions I used my food processor and cut up finely like a paste with the regular s blade. Cooked for 20 minutes and it turned out tender and the meat was infused with the flavor of the spices. No stirring or watching the pot. So easy. Would make again but next time would make spicier as I like better hotter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stone Ridge, New York, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
AMAZING! Only putting 4 stars because I did make some changes. Omitted the ghee, used 2 cans of tomatoes (I like things to be saucy!), and cut back "turmeric", coriander, and cumin by a half teaspoon. I say "turmeric" because I didn't have turmeric but found a sight that says you can sub ground mustard 1:1 ratio along with a pinch of saffron so that's what I did. I'll make it that way every time! Served with brown rice and naan bread. Can't wait to eat the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Made this for the first time tonight for dinner. I used boneless chicken cubes and butter instead of ghee. Also added some multi colored bell peppers towards the end and it actually turned out pretty good. My picky husband actually said it was good enough to pack and take for lunch tomorrow. He didn't think it was Pakistani though, it tasted more Indian. I usually use pre-measured boxed spice packets like Shan when cooking so I wasn't sure how the spices would turn out but it was pretty good. Doesn't beat my butter chicken recipe but definitely wouldn't mind making it again for the hubby :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
So I made this recipe twice now. Once with chicken and once with chickpeas. Both are amazing but the chickpeas ended up being a lot spicier so if you aren't using chicken decrease the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Delicious. I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetMary

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
This was quite good, but I used Indian red chili powder, and it was way too spicy. I will definitely cut back on that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
This is a terrific recipe! I made it exactly as written, and my husband and I both loved it. The only change I will make next time is to make it hotter, as it was very mild for someone raised on Tex-Mex cooking. Sriracha ought to do the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Easy to make and easy to adjust to taste. I like mine extra hot, so I used crushed habanero peppers instead of chili powder. This is a very easy, yet delectable dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This was so easy and really tasty. I didn't know what to cook and had everything on hand so I figured I'd give it a try. I thought there wasn't going to be enough sauce at first but it ended up being just the right amount. I served it over rice and put a dollop of sour cream (I didn't have any plain yogurt on hand) on top of it. I'm not sure what it's "supposed" to taste like but I really liked the flavors. Oh, and I used plain ol' butter instead of the ghee and it turned out great. BTW, my picky eater kid gobbled it right up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States