Chicken I Hate You! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
What a sad name for such a great starter recipe. I used Newman's jarred alfredo sauce and hot fettucini noodles instead of a packaged noodle mix. I did saute some fresh garlic, sliced onions, a sliced red pepper and fresh mushrooms (instead of canned) before adding the rest of the ingredients. I sprinkled each helping with parmesan cheese. Sick as I am, this was the best thing I'd had in days. I don't think I'd use canned asparagus next time, I'd use fresh. I think I'd add a little italian seasoning next time, too. Great starter recipe with pantry items for a quick dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I love the name. I have quite a few "Chicken, Pork, Beef, and Pie Ala-Mode-I Hate You Recipes myself. Going to try this, while adding in pinches of love here and there lol. Will write more to let you know how it worked out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Etta Alexandrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eagar, Arizona, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Husband loved it! Had to make a few substitutions. Didn't have the Alfredo noodle package, so used egg noodles and alfredo sauce, and used regular diced tomatoes, didn't have any italian style on hand. Was still very good and will definitely make again. Husband agrees w/other reviewers that it would be better w/fresh asparagus and mushrooms. Delicious and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busymom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
it sounded a little strange at first, but it got such good reviews i thought i'd try it. i'm glad i did! it was really good! it was a little bland so i might try some of the other reviewers ideas next time. it's deffinately a keeper. i just wish the name wasn't so negative. lol. by my figuring, it's 7 weight watcher's flex points per serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Needs flavor. Very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
This was pretty good and very easy. I did use fresh asparagus because I had some, but otherwise followed the recipe. I actually thought it could have used more pasta...in the future I might use a larger package or just make my own. But a good idea for a quick dinner. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I used fresh veggies and a jar of alfredo. It was good and everyone liked it but it didn't warm up well for leftovers...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neffets72

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chicken
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I changed the recipe a bit for some freshness. I used a Frescarini wholemeal alfredo pasta and sauce mix, but used fresh asparagus, mushrooms and tomatoes. I also added some zucchini. This was lovely and creamy, and the vegetables helped to balance out the richness of the dish. I was overall really impressed with this dish, even though the name makes me feel sad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I rated this 4 stars for the simplicity. It was good. Hubby liked it even though he doesn't really like asparagus. I will try it again but substitute brocoli for asparagus and add some bacon, just a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I was looking for a simple chicken recipe and chose this one since I had all ingredients accept the alfredo noodles. When I went to the store to get the alfredo mix, I didn't know exactly what the recipe called for as "pkg of alfredo sause egg noodle mix" is a bit confusing. I figured I could go with alfredo sauce and fettuccine noodles when I came across the Lipton Noodle alfredo pkg (or you can you Pasta Roni). This was a really quick meal and very tasty. I put frozen asparagus (my boyfriend doesn't care for canned) and also added frozen broccoli to the water for the noodles (just in case I didn't like the asparagus. I did leave out the mushrooms though. It turned out great! My 10 yr old daughter was skeptical about the asparagus, she doesn't care for it either, but she told me to make sure to put in the review that she loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msbehavin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Pan-fried chicken topped with a fresh avocado and red onion salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States