Chicken Hurry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2004
This recipe is terrific, I love it. Changes: I use boneless, skinless chicken breasts and add 2 cloves of crushed garlic to the sauce. I double the sauce but not the onion soup mix, just use one packet. Also, I throw a bunch of chopped onion on the chicken before adding the sauce. I like to take the cover off halfway through cooking so the sauce reduces and thickens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mallard, Iowa, USA
Living In: Emmetsburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
This was so darn easy. I had some chicken drumsticks to make and had no idea what to do with them when I came across this recipe. I didn't have enuf ketchup to double it, so I added a 1/2 c. of our favorite bbq sauce; YUMMY and there was lots of sauce too. I also layered the bottom of the pan with sliced onions... this will DEFINITELY be a keeper in our house!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
This was very good, but I doubled the sauce and cooked it the second time uncovered! It gave the chicken a crispier skin and was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
I LOVED this recipe!! I would give it 10 stars if I could. I wish I had thought to add onions to the bottom of the pan, as Melissa suggested. Will do that next time. I doubled the ketchup, water and brown sugar; but used only one package of onion soup mix. and the sauce was wonderful on mashed potatoes. Only problem was we ran out of sauce before potatoes; so I will make more sauce next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hoffman, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2003
Try this! You won't be sorry. I had a package of chicken thighs and a desire to do something different without having to go shopping for additional ingrediants. Who doesn't have the five ingrdients needed for Chicken Hurry? I prepared as directed except I added crushed fresh garlic and used thighs vs a whole bird. My husband and kids loved this recipe. There are nights when you want to cook an exquisite meal and then there are nights when you want something fast,easy & delicious. This is a keeper, Thanks, Liz
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZ5

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
Easy and Good - very very good! I often do this in the crock pot, then shred the chicken and place it on a toasted burger bun or kaiser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
So simple, yet so good! I used boneless, skinless chicken breasts. I omitted the sugar (totally not necessary), added 1/2 c. chili sauce, 1/2 c. red wine, and lots of fresh minced garlic. Also layered bottom of pan with sliced sweet peppers and onions. My daughter, an aspiring chef, demanded to know what was in the incredible sauce. When I told her, she didn't believe me. This is not barbeque sauce. It's just a plain, simple and good basic recipe. As with other reviewers, I will double the sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
This recipe was very good and reminded me of a recipe my mom used to make. I changed this recipe a little. I used chicken legs instead of thighs. I doubled the sauce but kept the original amount of brown sugar and only used half the package of onion soup mix. I also layered the bottom of the pan with sliced onions. There was only enough sauce to put about a large spoonful over each piece of chicken. I want enough sauce to pour it over and cover the chicken as well as an inch or so in the bottom of the pan. So after spooning the sauce I added water to the bottom of the pan, atleast enough to cover the onions. It came out really good. My husband liked it but said it was a little too sweet so next time I think I will omit the brown sugar all together. I also seasoned the chicken with pepper and garlic powder before putting sauce on it. This was very easy so I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2002
Teriffic and easy meal. I didn't have a whole bird so I used 8 boneless skinless chicken breasts (which is apprx 3lbs) and added 1/2 TBLS minced garlic. Served over rice and a side of steamed veggies. Right blend of tastes and now that the school year is starting, a quick meal. Will make this one again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
Great and easy to make! This is definately a man-pleaser. My boyfriend just loved it -- I did too. I am not a cook at all, so anything that is easy to prepare and tastes good gets 5 stars from me. As it's just the two of us, I usd the same amount of sauce on two big chicken breasts -- it was fab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Exotic Pomegranate Chicken

Pomegranate juice makes a great marinade for baked chicken.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States