Chicken Honey Nut Stir Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
This was SO GOOD!! Absolutely the best stir fry recipe I have tried yet. The only changes I made were the addition of peas (next time will probably add broccoli, snow peas, etc.) and i didn't have cashews so i toasted some almond slivers and sesame seeds and i think they were a fine substitution. i added a litle more ginger than called for. I thought the blend of flavors in the sauce was just outstanding and everyone said it smelled and tasted fabulously. very good recipe, only change i would make would be the addition of more vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
245 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brenham, Texas, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2002
I thought this recipe was really tasty. I did alter it slightly...I used 2 TBLS instead of 2 tsp of oil. Using the first TBLS of oil, I cooked the celery and carrots and added 1 head of chopped broccoli, 1/2 red and 1/2 green bell pepper chopped, 1/2 cup frozen snow pea pods and 1/4 cup sliced fresh mushrooms. After stir frying them, I added the chicken (and added an extra 1/2 lb more than what the recipe calls for). In addition, I doubled the "sauce." The result was delicious. Although kids who are picky with their veggies may not enjoy it as much, this recipe is one that you can cater to what you enjoy. My five year old loves it and got a kick out of eating the cashew topping. I was hoping that the sauce would be sweeter in taste and next time I might add a tsp of orange zest or something but overall, it was really good and sooo easy to make. I will be making this more often. What a tasty way to eat your veggies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2002
The flavor on this was outstanding. The orange was just right and the sesame oil was a very good "secret" ingredient. I agree though with the other reviews on the sweetness or hotness - it needed a little more of one or the other. I added a little more sweetness in the form of mirin and that worked great. I might try hot pepper sauce the next time for hotness! Also per other reviews I doubled the sauce and added extra veggies. I'm glad I did because I don't think there would've been enough for our family of 6. I added zucchini, pea pods, bean sprouts, garlic and even spinach. The only thing I would suggest is to cook the chicken first for two reasons, one is for sanitary reasons. I didn't like that I was putting raw chicken on my veggies. The other reason was that the veggies got too soggy after being in there so long. I prefer them a little crunchier and so does my husband. All in all a great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONNOODLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Republic, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2002
this is a very simple and quick dish. i used a bag of frozen "stir fry" veggies, added in red pepper flakes for a kick, and had peanuts in the pantry so i used them instead of cashews. i'd suggest adding in the sauce before the chicken is entirely cooked, to avoid bland chicken. this recipe is very versatile -- you can add any veggies, meats, nuts you want. the sauce was good -- the whole dish reminded me of something you'd get in a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2002
I loved this recipe. Who knew healthy food could taste so good. I left out the celery and didn't add nuts because my husband does not like them in stir fry and I added about a tablespoon and a half to make it a little sweeter. I also added a little garlic and salt and pepper to taste which is not mentioned in the recipe. This will be how I make stir fry from now on. Oh, and I also used olive oil and it turned out just great. I might try sunflower seed oil next time. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2004
Not a big hit at our house. All we really tasted was the orange juice and we won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
I used lemon juice instead of orange, and did not use the corn starch. It was wonderful!!!!!!! One of the best stir frys I have had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2003
My son absolutey loved this and I thought it was really good, but hubby just thought it was okay. I think it is a fresh and light flavored stir fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
Made this for my husband and friends. My first attempt at a stir-fry, and they couldn't get enough! No leftovers to speak of. Made exactly as listed and served on top of jasmine rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
We really enjoyed this recipe. I had leftover white rice and needed something that I could just throw together. My husband thought I'd slaved over dinner! It was a great, healthy dinner! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JELJ

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Garlic Chicken Stir Fry

See how to make a quick stir-fry with plenty of garlic and crunchy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States