Chicken Honey Nut Stir Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
This recipe is excellent. It is so versatile. We aren't big celery fans here so I usually substitute with whatever vegetable we have on hand (broccoli, snap peas). I've even used Apple juice in a pinch before. Definitely one of our favs. The sauce is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
I used to make something similar to this years ago from a recipe I got from an advertisement in a magazine. That recipe has since been lost...until I found this one here! I believe it is close (if not exactly the same) to my lost recipe. To make it a bit healthier I cut the chicken down to 1 pound and added a chopped red bell pepper and snow peas. Those were lovely additions and worked well. I also used regular soy sauce instead of low sodium, and the result was not too salty at all for my tastes. Lastly I swapped peanuts for the cashews (cheaper). At first I thought the sauce was too thin, but it thickened up quite a bit for the leftovers so I'll keep the sauce the same next time. I generally don't like things too sweet, so I was light handed with the honey measurements but it's not overly sweet at all. I think a touch of heat would be a nice complement to the sweetness, perhaps a chile or red pepper flakes. Served on nutty, brown rice which was wonderful with this. The trick to recipes such as this is how well you cook the veggies. If they're crunchy they are not done yet, if they're soft you took it too far, just needs to be firm. This was as good as I remember! So happy to have my long-lost recipe back!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
The orange juice just really threw off the taste for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
When I tasted just the sauce before mixing all together I found it heavy on the oj flavor, BUT when eating it with the chicken and veggies, I ended up eating a 2nd serving. Thought it worked well all together! Family liked it. I did add more veggies, as well as some bell pepper and broccoli since we needed to use it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake'n'Eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Photo by Kathy B
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I have made this recipe twice and really liked it both times. I actually like the strong orange flavor. I cooked the chicken first and then added the vegetables. I also added one clove of garlic and used ground ginger since I didn't have any fresh ginger. Served it over jasmine rice. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Easy, great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zuly
Home Town: Panama City, Panama Province, Panama
Living In: Moravia, San Jose , Costa Rica
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
I made this the other night and thought it was very good. I did not use all the o.j. when doubling the sauce like I always do. I used 1/2 cup chicken stock and 1 cup o.j. I was afraid it would have too much of an orange flavor as per one reviewer. I did add a little more honey and soy sauce, but that was my preference after tasting. It could have been because I used less orange juice, which would have made it sweeter. I didn't have cashews, so I used peanuts. I thought it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Diced carrots and celery very fine, added about a teaspoon of sesame oil and a clove of minced garlic, and substituted a 1/2 teaspoon of ground ginger. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Absolutely delicious!! The crisp green onions and the nuts give a great texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
I thought it was great. Kind of spicy!My family thought it was a bit salty. I didnt use sodium free soy sauce though so thats most likely why, because thats the only "salt" that was in here!ha. I served over rice.great. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Barron

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Garlic Chicken Stir Fry

See how to make a quick stir-fry with plenty of garlic and crunchy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States