Chicken Hobo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
This was really good!! The chicken came out super moist. I did put the potatoes in the microwave for a couple of minutes to help speed up the cooking process. I also sprayed cooking spray on the foil and instead I butter I used olive oil. I also didn't use garlic salt, instead I used Cajun seasoning. I sprinkles that on the potatoes and chicken. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
This is really good. I made only a few changes for personal tastes. My husband and I are both trying to watch our calories, so I omitted the bacon and butter. I have no doubt that adding those would have made it even better (sigh). Like many others, I boiled the red potato cubes for about 5 minutes to make sure they would get done. Also, since the weather was bad, I put all the ingredients in a baking pan coated lightly with olive oil and covered it with foil, baking for about 30 minutes at 350 degrees, rather than grilling it. I used chicken breast tenderloins (marinated a short while), so larger breast halves might take longer. This was just very easy and we all liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Not as great as expected but not really bad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
OK... so I added a tiny bit of minced garlic, kosher salt, a pinch of sugar, pepper and rosemary to the diced potatoes, onions and carrots. I sprinkled the chicken breasts with garlic salt, and then drizzled them with some of the bacon grease. One idea is to make a gravy out of the drippings, but not at all necessary! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Was very easy to fix and everyone seemed to like it. I added new potatoes and finger potatoes and baby carrots. Doubled up the foil and didn't have any issues with them burning. Cooked it in the oven at 350 for an hour. Kids like the idea that they can customize their pouches and will try some variations on the next go around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
I made this exactly as the recipe stated, except that I cooked it approx 5 minutes longer because we're at a higher altitude. Cooked this on the gas grill and kept the temp at approx 400-425. My super-picky DH loved this, and asked me not to change anything the next time I made it (I have a tendency to experiment). Next time though, for my packet I'll season the chicken with some Lawry's seasoned salt, and will go with with regular bacon rather than the peppered. Hubby will still get the peppered. Sidenote on the bacon... I didn't fry it until crispy... just cooked it for a few minutes on each side so it was still limp. I think that the bacon further cooking in the packet gave it a LOT of flavor that you might not otherwise get if you pre-cooked the bacon to a crispy state. I may try this using a mix of thighs and breasts down the road, and will probably also toss in a few mushrooms. Fantastic recipe-- will go into my regular rotation for sure.Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
This was amazing and simple. I added whole portabella mushrooms and Italian dressing marinade. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Used only 3 sliced peppered bacon; about 10 small varied colored potatoes; 3 breasts (that's what came in the pkg); a very large onion; and, 1/4 cup butter. Also seasoned the breasts and browned first, while cooking the bacon somewhat to lose a little of the fat. Removed the browned breasts and placed the onion on the bottom of dutch oven, potatoes and carrots next, then the chicken, and finally the bacon on top before adding the diced butter. Placed the lid on the dish and cooked at 350 about an hour, and then turned to 300 until dinner, about another hour. The chicken was tender, as were all the veges and the bacon gave the dish a decidedly spicy flair. There was quite a bit of "gravy" on the bottom, probably because the onion had cooked away to nothing and mingled with the bacon drippings and butter. Easy and complete meal in one pot. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
My family loved this! I added a little seasoned salt & salt/pepper to the mix and used about half the butter it called for and everything turned out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Marinated chicken and microwaved the potatoes for 3 minutes before putting in the pouches. Great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

How to Grill Chicken Better

Get tips for prepping and grilling crusty, juicy chicken.

How to Make Barbecue Chicken

Discover a great technique for making perfect barbecue chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States