Chicken Hekka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
This is a local favorite in Hawaii! A very easy dinner with great leftovers. I like to prepare all the veggies the night before, so when dinner time rolls around all I do is throw things into a big pot and let the magic happen. Mirin, sugar, shoyu mixture is a must. I have made this dish without ginger, but it does add a little kick. The smaller you cut the chicken, the faster it cooks. When I'm rushing, I don't bother to julienne the carrots, slices work just as well. I like to throw in some cubed firm tofu for a little more protein. Final touches would be a sprinkling of green onions. This can be eaten hot or cold, for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. My go to dinner once a week!!! Enjoy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsSalt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aiea, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
I found this particular recipe to be extremely sweet, and would recommend only 2/3 a cup of sugar, and to also add a few tablespoons of sake to even out the sweetness. overall this recipe is not to hard to cook it just takes timing is all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
This was delicious.. I cut back on the sugar and that was the right thing to do. Added garlic because I always do. I had some enoki and wood ear mushrooms so I used them in this. Couldn't find rice noodles, so I used Udon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I enjoyed it. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimisarita

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Use the sauce recipe, tweaked to your preferences, for whatever chicken-veggie mixture you like. It's a delicious combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOIREBRI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
This is a easy and yummy dinner. I used shitake mushrooms (cause I love the flavor) and "Napa" cabbage, as I don't care for watercress. Before adding the shoyu (soy sauce) mixture, TASTE IT!!! If it's too sweet add a little water! Also if it's to "runny" for your taste add a little corn starch! This is super good with steaming hot, white sticky rice (japanese rice)!!! I think people who gave this a poor review are not used to asain food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALEODRAGON
Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Benicia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
Not bad but definitely boring. Maybe some garlic would help but I won't go through making this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
This recipe is alright,but I found it a bit sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENEPEREZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Isabela, Isabela, Puerto Rico
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
I thought this was just OK. I cut down the sugar, and added sugar snap peas and baby corn in addition to the veggies in the recipe. I did use the noodles as directed. I was expecting more of a 'stir fry', but I ended up with a ton of sauce -- I had to use a slotted spoon to plate up the dish, even after letting it reduce somewhat. Even with the noodles, my husband felt that this needed to be served with rice. The chicken flavor was OK, but it was far too much trouble to make for the results that I got.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
we loved this recipe.I did change it according to everyone advice. I cut the recipe to half for 2 of us and still leftovers. I used alot of fresh garlic,more ginger,added alot of vegetbles,zucchni,small brocoli bits,peapods,green onion & regular onion.I think iway add more spice to it and some hot pepper flakes next time. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Chicken Lo Mein

See how to make tender chicken and mushrooms with saucy Asian-style noodles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States