Chicken Hariyali Tikka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Great recipe--the first time I prepared it as written, substituting red curry paste for green chile paste as that is what I have. This turned out great. The second time I doubled the listed ingredients, blended them with a can of coconut milk, and simmered the chicken in the sauce. This was *delicious*. It makes a fresh-tasting curry that's great over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: River Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I marinated this overnight--absolutely terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
FABULOUS! Tender, juicy, and incredibly flavorful. I often find chicken boring, but not this recipe. I wasn't sure whether to pack down the cilantro before I measured it, but I went ahead and did so because I like cilantro so much. I used 1/4 cup of dried mint because the grocery store was out of the fresh stuff. And I measured the garlic, ginger paste, and green chili paste very generously. I only had chicken thighs (bones in) on hand, so I broiled them for twenty minutes on the first side and ten on the second. I don't know that I've ever had better chicken. We ate it with orzo and tomato salad. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I am cheap, so I used chix thighs.I marinated the chix for 24 hrs., it was very tasty and I was sooo happy that the herb mixture didn't turn all brown, I know it was the lemon that helped that. I baked it and was delish!! Thank You for another yummy alternative to the same old birdy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Great flavor!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Like others I subbed red chili paste for the green (only used 1/2 TBS) and minced garlic and powdered ginger for the paste. First time using mint on my chicken and this was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
Made this using seitan instead of chicken. I had to double the Tikka (probably because seitan is a little more absorbent than chicken), but it turned out very nicely. I felt good after eating - like I'd really eaten something very healthy and good for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Parran

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
I will try again, with less salt! But after sitting in the fridge for a day, the salt seemed toned down. Lovely fragrance! I had some of Amy's Cilantro Sauce from another dish left over and dipped the chicken in it.. MMM. Very nice. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Mmmm mmm good. I used Sarichi (not sure of the spelling, the red chilli sauce with the rooster on the bottle) because I couldn't find green chilli paste. Also couldnt find garlic gincer paste so I used 3 cloves of garlic and 2 tbs of fresh chopped ginger root.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
This was good, but I thought the citrus flavor was a little strong or it needed something to make the flavor less bitter. I think it would be better without the lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedford, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
SOOO good!!! And extremely healthy and low-cal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala

Discover an authentic taste of India.

Chef John's Chicken Tikka Masala

Coconut milk, instead of cream, is the key to this classic chicken curry dish.

Chicken Tikka Masala

See how to make this top-rated recipe for spiced chicken in a tomato cream sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States