Chicken Gumbo Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This soup was very good, and one we will be making quite often. Thank you for sharing it. We added celery instead of mushrooms (I don't much care for them), and added chicken oxo to the water. We used the Cateli Bistro Vegetable Rotini and put minute rice instead of wild rice in at the same time as the pasta. Perfect for a chilly winter's day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
i love this i will eat this all day if i could i would give this to anybody i see and i would make this all day just loved it and it should have 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
This recipe was great! I am a soup fanatic and will definitely make this again. I used 6 cups of chicken stock and 2 cups of water and ended up with a spicy, simple to make treat. If you don't like things spicy, you might want to cut down on the hot pepper sauce. Hubby didn't care for the spiciness, so I may try this next time, though I liked it as is. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
Some people here seem confused as to the difference in traditional Gumbo and Gumbo Soup. This is not the same as traditional Louisiana gumbo, however, as it contains okra-called gumbo in African-it is properly named. Now, for my rating-I think this was a very tasty, fresh and original take on traditional Gumbo. Kudos, Mr. Schaefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2000
My family loves this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2000
what an insult!! This is not gumbo, don't be fooled!! I am from LA. NO ONE here puts TOMATOES in their gumbo, might get run off to the woods if so. To give you a back ground on gumbo, it is a MEAT stew served over rice. It never has tomatoes in it. I have been to many states and outside of La, gumbo is trashed into some sorta gross dish. The meat is what is changed in it........it never contains carrots and stuff since it is a MEAT stew. insulted.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2001
This is the greatest tasting soup I've EVER had!!! It was wonderful!! It won 1st place at the state fair, and everyone I know loves it! I have NO idea why people are insulting it, maybe they're just jealous! Anyways, it was GREAT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2001
I loved the gumbo! My entire family liked it too. I myself think that the gumbo was not bland at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
It's "Really Quick!" in the sense that I spend only a few minutes putting it together in a pot to cook it. It does take hours to stew, however, it takes only minimal time to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
I really didn't want to make this recipe because of the okra, i tried okra one time and hated it. That was until i had my first spoonful of this gumbo, I loved it. I knew my kids were going to hate it because it had to many vegetables. I came home the next day, and the pot was empty...We love love love this recipe. Believe me three hours is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States