Chicken Gumbo Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
love it added 3 small broth cubes to match my usually salty soup taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Oh wow. This soup is fantastic! I swapped the salt and pepper for creole seasoning, and used instant white rice (it's what was on hand), and omitted the mushrooms. For the pasta, I used ditalini. I was in a hurry, so I threw everything into the pot, and cooked on medium-high for ninety minutes. Next time, I think I'd add some diced tomatoes and andouille sausage. It came out great. Thanks for the recipe, Phil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
i love this i will eat this all day if i could i would give this to anybody i see and i would make this all day just loved it and it should have 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
This may not be true gumbo, but it tastes good and is low calorie. I skip the pasta (just silly to add when you all ready have rice) I saute onions and fresh minced garlic, add the veggies, cookd 2 min then add chicken broth (not water), hot sauce (heavy handed) bring to boil,add the rice and chicken and let simmer. Didn't give 5 stars because of so many adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This soup was very good, and one we will be making quite often. Thank you for sharing it. We added celery instead of mushrooms (I don't much care for them), and added chicken oxo to the water. We used the Cateli Bistro Vegetable Rotini and put minute rice instead of wild rice in at the same time as the pasta. Perfect for a chilly winter's day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
I had frozen okra and wanted something easy with fewer ingredients than real gumbos. After reading the reviews I can see how people wouldn't like this soup.... I added Cajun seasonings and chili powder. I substituted brown rice for the wild to cut down on time. I cooked mine for about an hour or so and it was tasty! I recommend a name change to this recipe. Maybe... Louisiana style chicken and rice soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portage, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
Gosh, we tried this, and I tried to "Doctor" it up more then twice, and it just failed to our family as a Chicken Gumbo... The canned soup is most pleasing then this recipe. Sorry, I agree it was watery... and lack flavor. Okay it might because from North of the Dixy Line, and we have a different taste in Chicken Cumbo... not sure, but I want a soup that is full of flavor, and thick... that is gumbo to me.. Be well, and keep cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by north

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hope, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
Some people here seem confused as to the difference in traditional Gumbo and Gumbo Soup. This is not the same as traditional Louisiana gumbo, however, as it contains okra-called gumbo in African-it is properly named. Now, for my rating-I think this was a very tasty, fresh and original take on traditional Gumbo. Kudos, Mr. Schaefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
Quite Bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
I made this in a crockpot and used 6 cups ck. broth and 2 cups water. Maybe it was the crockpot, but the pasta was chewy and the soup itself was so-so. We added creole seasoning to spice it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States