Chicken Gumbo Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2000
Worst recipe of its type I've ever tried. Tasted watery and bland. Hot sauce did nothing for it. It's not worth even trying to improve this loser. Toss it out, please.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2000
My family loves this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2000
what an insult!! This is not gumbo, don't be fooled!! I am from LA. NO ONE here puts TOMATOES in their gumbo, might get run off to the woods if so. To give you a back ground on gumbo, it is a MEAT stew served over rice. It never has tomatoes in it. I have been to many states and outside of La, gumbo is trashed into some sorta gross dish. The meat is what is changed in it........it never contains carrots and stuff since it is a MEAT stew. insulted.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2001
This is the greatest tasting soup I've EVER had!!! It was wonderful!! It won 1st place at the state fair, and everyone I know loves it! I have NO idea why people are insulting it, maybe they're just jealous! Anyways, it was GREAT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2001
Had to use too much salt due to using water instead of broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2001
This is a fantastic, hot soup that loves up your insides. As has been so eloquently established, this is not a true "gumbo," hence the added "soup" in the title. But who cares. If it's original, I applaud Mr. Schaefer. I made a few changes, using tomatoes, chicken broth and Sweet Sue canned chicken breast to speed it up a bit. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2001
I loved the gumbo! My entire family liked it too. I myself think that the gumbo was not bland at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
It's "Really Quick!" in the sense that I spend only a few minutes putting it together in a pot to cook it. It does take hours to stew, however, it takes only minimal time to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
This is may be a great soup but it is not gumbo, gumbo never has pasta always rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
I really didn't want to make this recipe because of the okra, i tried okra one time and hated it. That was until i had my first spoonful of this gumbo, I loved it. I knew my kids were going to hate it because it had to many vegetables. I came home the next day, and the pot was empty...We love love love this recipe. Believe me three hours is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States