Chicken Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
This worked very well for my chicken commercials I made for supper. Was a little scared so I bought dry packet gravy just incase...but this recipe fit the bill. The only thing I did different was to add a few chicken boullion cubes & salt & pepper, I dbl. the recipe & just cut back on the poultry seasoning by about 1/2 tsp. Family said I can definately remake the meal...so the gravy must have worked for them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I needed a chicken gravy recipe in a pinch, and found this one first. Didn't read any of the other reviews, just made it according to the directions and it was great, great, great! Perfect for what I needed it for, but if I make it again, since reading other reviews, I think I will mix my cornstarch with some milk and cut my chicken stock back accordingly. Still, it was so simple and tasted great! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma2kinsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
We needed a quick gravy and thought we would try this. After reading many of the reviews, I did not quite get the color issue until I made it. I even used milk instead of water with the cornstarch. To fix the problem, I added one boullian cube, as well as a bay leaf, into the thickening gravy. It gave it the golden color that was needed. It also added a little extra seasoning that was needed. I then added less poultry seasoning. In the past, we would have just skipped the gravy. Now, I know we have a quick tasty and customizable option for our family. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I don't know if I did it wrong, but I followed the recipe to the T. It was REALLY lumpy and it had way too much poultry seasoning. That was all I could taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This Gravy turned out really good and only took like 7 minutes to make. I did use flour instead of cornstarch, and added atleast 2 tblspoons of Bells seasoning. Also a little tip: if you sift the flour into the water, its a a little less lumpy. I served this gravy over some leftover turkey (which had become quite dry), on french bread with some cranberry mayo. My housemates loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This recipe is a good place to start, but bland without some necessary changes. I sauteed some onions in butter, then put them in the blender with 1 cup water, 1 cup milk, a chicken boullion cube and the cornstarch. Pureed them all until smooth then put back in the pan to boil and thicken. Tasted really good considering there was no roast drippings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Wow! This was bland, tastless. Do not make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
This was the best chicken gravy i had every had and so easy my b/f can make it...lol.Thank you so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wannabe chefette
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
So easy and quick to make! I surprised myself! I didn't have chicken stock so I used a can of chicken broth hoping it would come out ok. A pleasant surprise. Next time I'll be sure to have chicken stock on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
I will never buy gravy at the store again! I had no idea it was this easy to make and it came out perfectly! Thankyou for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beautiful Disaster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Madison, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Chipotle Gravy

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts in a chipotle and green onion gravy.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Gravy

See how to make creamy chicken gravy from scratch.

How to Make Roast Chicken Pan Gravy

See the secret to making flawless chicken pan gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States