Chicken Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I followed others suggestions and used milk instead of water w/ the cornstarch. it turned out really good, i just added about 1/2 tsp salt and pepper. you sure can't beat a fast and easy homemade gravy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Ingredients matter! If you use good, quality stock then this will be awesome. If you use cheap stock it won't be any good. I tripled it and used it for chicken biscuits and gravy. I didn't have stock, but used 1T of chicken base and 1T of vegetable base for 6 cups of liquid. (use 1t of each for the original recipe). I also added a bit of garlic powder and dissolved the corn starch in 1C of milk. I used 5 cups water only, which combined with the milk made 6 cups liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
I only gave this 3 stars, because I modified it a bit. Instead of using Chicken Stock, because I didnt have any. I used 3 chicken bouillion cubes and 1 3/4 cup of water (as suggested by a previous reviewer). I mixed the corn starch with milk instead of water (as suggested by a previous reviewer). I made sure to add enough milk so that it didnt turn into a paste. The first time I attempted this, it turned into a paste and didnt work to well. I used a little bit of poultry seasoning and salt and pepper to taste. It tasted like a good country creamy chicken gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Amazingly easy and delicious gravy! My husband loved it! I made some sauted chicken breasts on the stovetop with garlic and Pappy's seasoning. When that was done, I used that pan with leftover droppings to make the gray in. I just added the chicken stock and cornstarch, and then salt and pepper to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Freedom, California, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Had some left-over rotissierre chicken breast and had planned to make a casserole , but Hubby said he would like some chicken and gravy over biscuits. This gravy worked out so well that he said to give the recipe 5 stars. Served it with peas and cranberry . Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJJ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
I was leary b/c of some of the bad reviews but I'm so glad I tried this gravy, it's very tasty and the consistency is just right (neither too watery nor too pastey). It was the perfect compliment to a chicken casserole I made and it couldn't have been easier to make. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
It doesn't get any easier or any better than this. I did use milk instead of water, just a preference for our family. Instant gravy!! Thanks for helping when I needed an easy recipe fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
This was great - did take advice from others and blended the corn starch with milk. Tasted great!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Ruzicka Rosenbush

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
BEST GRAVY EVER! For those people that said it didn't taste good, it's probably because their chicken wasn't great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusieQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
just made it with bouillion instead of stock. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Chipotle Gravy

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts in a chipotle and green onion gravy.

Chef John's Deep-Fried Creamy Chicken Gravy

Creamy, decadent, and rich fried Bechamel balls stuffed with chicken and ham.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Gravy

See how to make creamy chicken gravy from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States