Chicken Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Made this recipe tonight because I was out of jarred gravy and it was definitely the BEST chicken gravy both my husband and I have ever tasted! I added a bit of the dripping leftover from seasoned and baked chicken and I used 3 Tbsp. cornstarch with 2 Tbsp. 2% milk. Thanks for a great recipe, Barbara and thank you Allrecipes for NEVER letting me down. I come here often for recipes and each one I find and make is absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I used 2 cubes of chicken boullion in 2c. water instead of chicken stock. I used a mixture of cornstarch, flour and milk to thicken because just the cornstarch wasn't working. I added more poultry seasoning, pepper, garlic salt and onion powder. The gravy turned out great. I used turkey breast fillets and baked them in the gravy. This really flavored the gravy nicely!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
I needed gravy to make stuffed chicken breasts, I like to put gravy inside with the stuffing. I literally just made this in about 2 min and I made my own poultry seasoning since I didn't have any. This is the perfect thickness for inside the chicken, nice and thick, not runny. I did use 1 3/4 cups of boullion and used milk to mix with the cornstarch. Can't wait to make the chicken tonight :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I followed others suggestions and used milk instead of water w/ the cornstarch. it turned out really good, i just added about 1/2 tsp salt and pepper. you sure can't beat a fast and easy homemade gravy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Ingredients matter! If you use good, quality stock then this will be awesome. If you use cheap stock it won't be any good. I tripled it and used it for chicken biscuits and gravy. I didn't have stock, but used 1T of chicken base and 1T of vegetable base for 6 cups of liquid. (use 1t of each for the original recipe). I also added a bit of garlic powder and dissolved the corn starch in 1C of milk. I used 5 cups water only, which combined with the milk made 6 cups liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
I only gave this 3 stars, because I modified it a bit. Instead of using Chicken Stock, because I didnt have any. I used 3 chicken bouillion cubes and 1 3/4 cup of water (as suggested by a previous reviewer). I mixed the corn starch with milk instead of water (as suggested by a previous reviewer). I made sure to add enough milk so that it didnt turn into a paste. The first time I attempted this, it turned into a paste and didnt work to well. I used a little bit of poultry seasoning and salt and pepper to taste. It tasted like a good country creamy chicken gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Amazingly easy and delicious gravy! My husband loved it! I made some sauted chicken breasts on the stovetop with garlic and Pappy's seasoning. When that was done, I used that pan with leftover droppings to make the gray in. I just added the chicken stock and cornstarch, and then salt and pepper to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Freedom, California, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Had some left-over rotissierre chicken breast and had planned to make a casserole , but Hubby said he would like some chicken and gravy over biscuits. This gravy worked out so well that he said to give the recipe 5 stars. Served it with peas and cranberry . Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJJ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
I was leary b/c of some of the bad reviews but I'm so glad I tried this gravy, it's very tasty and the consistency is just right (neither too watery nor too pastey). It was the perfect compliment to a chicken casserole I made and it couldn't have been easier to make. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Chipotle Gravy

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts in a chipotle and green onion gravy.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Gravy

See how to make creamy chicken gravy from scratch.

How to Make Roast Chicken Pan Gravy

See the secret to making flawless chicken pan gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States