Chicken Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Great recipe! First off, I have to tell those of you who have not made gravy before - do not mix the cornstarch/water too far ahead of making the gravy. I did this & when I put it in the chicken stock, it instantly solidified! I considered letting it go to see if it would eventually mix back in, but decided quickly just to fish it out (it was large chunks) and put in a new mix. The 2nd time, I mixed the cornstarch with milk (first time with water) & added it to the broth immiately. So, it could have been that I used milk instead of water or it was just that I originally mixed it too early. With that said, loved the recipe. I used bullion to make the stock. Using milk with the cornstarch instead of water, it takes on a cream-of-chicken soup look. Added a blend spices a bit at a time until I liked it. Using this to dip my fluffy biscuits in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momoftwins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pequot Lakes, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Wow! I consider myself a gravy expert but this simple recipe (made from the rotisserie chicken) is beautiful! I added some water since it was too thick, and some salt for our tastes, but it was YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Eward Carlson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Perfect!!! I made a whole chicken in the croc pot today, let it slow cook for about 10 hours, deboned it. The wife made mash potatoes and I used this gravy recipe. First, its the first time I've ever made gravy successfully and Second, my wife who's the pickiest eater in the known world loved it as did my 5 year old (he had to have the gravy on everything) Thank you so much Barbara!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeffreytn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I did have to quadruple the recipe for a church gathering and it didn't work. Even though I followed the directions, it was very light in color and bland in taste. Not sure if that was due to increasing the servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEATS4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Holly Springs, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Awesome, amazingly simple with great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This was great! I made my stock using boullion, then boiled two chicken breast in it for about 1/2 hr, took the chicken out when juices were clear, mixed milk instead of water like others suggested and added seasoning, shredded the chicken and put it back in when it thickened and then poured it over box mashed potatoes! I was a very quick GOOD and easy meal to make;) I thought it could use more pepper but I LOVE pepper so yeah... will use again! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Made this recipe tonight because I was out of jarred gravy and it was definitely the BEST chicken gravy both my husband and I have ever tasted! I added a bit of the dripping leftover from seasoned and baked chicken and I used 3 Tbsp. cornstarch with 2 Tbsp. 2% milk. Thanks for a great recipe, Barbara and thank you Allrecipes for NEVER letting me down. I come here often for recipes and each one I find and make is absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I used 2 cubes of chicken boullion in 2c. water instead of chicken stock. I used a mixture of cornstarch, flour and milk to thicken because just the cornstarch wasn't working. I added more poultry seasoning, pepper, garlic salt and onion powder. The gravy turned out great. I used turkey breast fillets and baked them in the gravy. This really flavored the gravy nicely!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
I needed gravy to make stuffed chicken breasts, I like to put gravy inside with the stuffing. I literally just made this in about 2 min and I made my own poultry seasoning since I didn't have any. This is the perfect thickness for inside the chicken, nice and thick, not runny. I did use 1 3/4 cups of boullion and used milk to mix with the cornstarch. Can't wait to make the chicken tonight :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Chipotle Gravy

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts in a chipotle and green onion gravy.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Gravy

See how to make creamy chicken gravy from scratch.

How to Make Roast Chicken Pan Gravy

See the secret to making flawless chicken pan gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States