Chicken Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Not a bad quick-to-make gravy. I do have to agree with others who said the consistency was not the best. It reminded me of lobster sauce from a Chinese restaurant. I'd suggest going easy on the corn starch. I wonder if potato flakes would work better as a thickener than the corn starch? Overall, it's a decent gravy to use in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Made this because my mother doesn't like brown gravy (crazy). This was excellent with the Tender Pan-Fried Chicken, and great on mashed potatoes. Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
This was very good for the quickness but I made my own poultry seasoning so it was to my taste. It turned out a little jello-y but I think that was my fault. I used chicken bouillon cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovely Lyndsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gainesville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Camp Lejeune, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
When you don't have chicken drippings to work with, this method is a decent option. I make this gravy all the time to put into my chicken pot pie recipe. I use a little less of the poultry seasoning but then add a couple pinches of thyme, a pinch of onion power and a grind or two of black pepper. Have also served this over breaded and baked chicken cutlets, works really well for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I used 2 cups bouillion dissolved in boiling water. I then melted 3tblsp butter in a skillet and added 2tblsp flour to make a roux. Wisked the roux into the bouillion with about a tsp of milk, simmered until thickened. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
I am only giving this gravy two stars because chicken poultry just do not add enough flavor. I had to add salt,adobo, cumin and some onion powder. I cooked the chicken and after it was cooked removed it from the pan and use the chicken scraps and added it in. It was delicious!!! Will be making it again and then I will write down exact measurements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tati

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Taste, consistency, and appearance of this gravy are all good - I don't understand those reviews that complain about any of those things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This was quick and easy. I used chicken broth and this was super easy and delish. But, I suggest cutting back on the amount of poultry seasoning - you can always add more. 1 tsp turned out to be too much for me, so I added a can of turkey gravy I happened to have on hand to tone it down and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Added crushed red pepper, parmesan, salt, italian seasoning, sweet chili flake. Very good for a simple gravy.. used milk version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Loved it. I dissolved the cornstarch in milk instead of water, added a little bit of butter, and some old bay/pepper/salt. Turned out good and the hubby liked it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharlene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ardmore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Chipotle Gravy

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts in a chipotle and green onion gravy.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Gravy

See how to make creamy chicken gravy from scratch.

How to Make Roast Chicken Pan Gravy

See the secret to making flawless chicken pan gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States