Chicken Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Simple, easy, fast and cheap comfort food. :) Happy family here and will definitely be adding to our recipe box and monthly rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jcalvin2007

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I made this tonight, and we really liked it. I used some home made chicken stock I had frozen. I read other reviews first and thank you suzyq (July 26.2011) for the tip about mixing some milk into the cornstarch for a lump free gravy, it worked great. For such a simple recipe, it was very, very good. Will be making this again. Thank you Barbara
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSIE-0-TOOLE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Used pan drippings (including some chopped onion that cooked with the chicken) from a roast chicken and some homemade chicken broth. Used cornstarch and water but it wasn't thick enough so I added some flour. It was bland so I threw in a boullion cube and it made the flavor so good. This is a great add-to recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. Though I will admit to using chicken bouillon instead of chicken stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
This was good, I made with milk too like others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yucca Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Not a bad quick-to-make gravy. I do have to agree with others who said the consistency was not the best. It reminded me of lobster sauce from a Chinese restaurant. I'd suggest going easy on the corn starch. I wonder if potato flakes would work better as a thickener than the corn starch? Overall, it's a decent gravy to use in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Made this because my mother doesn't like brown gravy (crazy). This was excellent with the Tender Pan-Fried Chicken, and great on mashed potatoes. Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
This was very good for the quickness but I made my own poultry seasoning so it was to my taste. It turned out a little jello-y but I think that was my fault. I used chicken bouillon cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovely Lyndsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gainesville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Camp Lejeune, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
When you don't have chicken drippings to work with, this method is a decent option. I make this gravy all the time to put into my chicken pot pie recipe. I use a little less of the poultry seasoning but then add a couple pinches of thyme, a pinch of onion power and a grind or two of black pepper. Have also served this over breaded and baked chicken cutlets, works really well for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I used 2 cups bouillion dissolved in boiling water. I then melted 3tblsp butter in a skillet and added 2tblsp flour to make a roux. Wisked the roux into the bouillion with about a tsp of milk, simmered until thickened. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Chipotle Gravy

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts in a chipotle and green onion gravy.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Gravy

See how to make creamy chicken gravy from scratch.

How to Make Roast Chicken Pan Gravy

See the secret to making flawless chicken pan gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States