Chicken Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I found this recipe to be extremely bland as written, perhaps in part because I did have to use the chicken bouillon method. It's palatable enough to use in a chicken stuffing casserole, but only after some serious tweaking. I added a good shake of onion powder, s & p, parsley and (as much as I didn't want to add the fat) a little butter. Perhaps I will try again the next time I have chicken stock on hand and it will be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Quincy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I made the recipe exactly as stated. It was weird looking but tasted OK after adding salt. It did not look like the photos. Follow others' advice using milk and salt for a better look and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
OMG!!! This has to be the worst tasting gravy I have ever had. The texture, color, and taste were horrible. I tried to add numerous other seasonings just to make this thing eatable and I just could not do it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
This was my first try at gravy and it came out very well ... you have to continually wisk it and add salt and pepper. It came out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NMSimmons

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Surprisingly good! I didn't have any poultry seasoning or thyme, just some sage growing in the yard. I also added some marjoram & dried shallots & simmered to blend the flavors. We drizzled it over the chicken thighs & brown rice I had made that seemed to be lacking something. I don't make gravy bec of the fat, calories & cholesterol. This recipe added moisture & a nice chicken flavor from the broth. It was great over the rice. I don't understand the comment that it was greasy. There is no grease in the ingredients, one reason I liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
In the words of Billy Crystal, "This was mahvelous daughling, simply mahvelous!" I'm not sure why others have had trouble with this. I did modify it a bit. It's a great base to play around with. I boiled 1 cup of water with 1 heaping tbs of Herbox Sodium Free chicken bouillon powder (for those of you who like salt, you could use chicken broth or the regular bouillon granules and probably have enough sodium to taste, but you can always add more; just add more a little at a time), 1/4 tsp black pepper and a bit of sodium free homemade season all. I slowly stirred in 1 cup of cold milk into 3 tbs cornstarch, then whisked it as I poured it into the boiling water because cornstarch settles at the bottom quickly. After it began to boil it thickened up nicely. You can add whatever other flavors you like. It's very good and this is my go to gravy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagnoliaSouth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Way too much poultry seasoning!! OK gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I made this tonight for my wife's birthday & it turned out great. I added carrots to it. With the chicken renderings, I made a real good gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
It made the best gravy I have ever made. A few changes though. Use 3 tbsp and 1 tsp to make the gravy a little thicker and I used one cup milk and one cup water. I added a pinch of salt and some pepper as well. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I love this recipe! Certainly you can add additional seasonings to your liking. I'll admit that I added a little more poultry seasoning than called for. I certainly won't be buying cans or seasoning packets of chicken gravy when I quickly make this recipe from scratch! Thank you for posting it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Chipotle Gravy

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts in a chipotle and green onion gravy.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Gravy

See how to make creamy chicken gravy from scratch.

How to Make Roast Chicken Pan Gravy

See the secret to making flawless chicken pan gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States