Chicken Gravy Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
wow, this was good. The changes I made: I added some thinly sliced potatoes to the mix and substituted a bit of the liquid from a jar of jalapenos instead of water. I didn't have corn tortillas so I used flour (loved it but I'll go to corn to save some calories next time), and I made one layer just of shredded cheese, red pepper bits and salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Added a lot of veggies, all I had at home while making a quick gravy. Used tofu instead of chicken and I did not even get to taste what was made.....all eaten up!! The idea is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
I probably shouldn't rate this recipe because I changed it so much but it turned out great so I thought I'd pass in on. I used left over chicken from Roast Sticky Chicken-Rotisserie Style on this site (also made Chicken Tortilla Soup V, both awesome recipes). I used about a cup of cooked brown rice, onion, bell pepper, brocolli and garlic (really you could use any veggies: zuchinni, mushrooms) and about 1 1/2 Tablespoons of the Taco Seasoning I (also from this site). I sauteed the veggies in a little oil with the Taco Seasoning, then added the rice and chicken to re-heat. I made a double batch of Simple Chicken Gravy (again, from this site) from the dripping from the roasted chicken the night before. Put a little of the gravy at the bottom of the pan and layered 6 corn torillas then rice and veggie mix half the gravy over the rice a little cheese. I had enough for 2 full layers with the top being 6 more corn tortillas a little gravy for moisture and some cheese. Cooked it as directed. Wasn't watery like other reviews. Very tasty, my two kids and husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
My wife and I liked this a lot. I made a few touch-ups: - I veganized the recipe by using seitan instead of chicken. I lightly browned the seitan in a couple tablespoons of canola oil. Seitan is a high-protein veggie meat made primarily from wheat gluten; it's available in Whole Foods-type stores and sometimes "regular" grocery stores. In recipes, it has a taste and texture similar to chicken. There are lots of recipes for it online, but I always buy it ready-made from a package. I also used Follow Your Heart vegan cheddar (though my first choice, had I not had leftovers to use up, would have been Daiya vegan cheddar). - Mindful of other reviewers' comments, I added some garlic powder to the mixture as well as some corn starch for thickening. I served it kind of half over, half next to rice, for which I added a bit of Mexcan spices to the broth. I lightly spooned salsa verde on top of the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by garyloewenthal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Very good. I added cilantro and it was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chino Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bclark101
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
YUM!, I used the leftover dark turkey from Thanksgiving diner. I didn't have quite 4cups of gravy so I used a can of condensed cream of chicken soup plus I added a cup of chopped cilantro. PS- the pic is from me :-) AND I used real Hatch green chili!!! BEST enchiladas EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
I made this for 4 servings. I oven baked the chicken breasts ahead of time. Since the chicken was already cooked, I put all the ingredients in the frying pan and simmered it for 15 minutes. I also added 3/4 cup of raw rice while simmering. After arranging all ingredients in the baking dish, I covered it and baked it for 35 minutes, uncovered it and let it bake for another 15 minutes. Adding the rice really helped it from being too soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
Good flavor but was too soupy for us. I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
We didn't care for this at all, unfortunately. The flavors just didn't blend very well, it wasn't very appetizing to look at, and the tortillas were mushy and unpleasant. Not recommended. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
I made the recipe exactly as is and this did not go over well with my family. My husband said it was too bland, my 3 year old only ate it because we made him, and my 16 month old had fun smearing it (he usually eats ANYTHING). It came out way to liquidy. Almost like a thick soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole

See how to make a cheesy chicken and corn tortilla casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States