Chicken, Garlic, and Sundried Tomato Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
This recipe was great!!! I only give it 4/5 stars b/c of the necessary modifications. Based on the other reviews, I only used 12oz of bowtie pasta and doubled the sauce ingredients (but only used 5-6 Tbsp of butter; I also did not double the parsley). I used just 2 chicken breasts, and also doubled the sun dried tomato portion. We didn't have any Romano cheese at home so I omitted it and it still turned out great! I am not sure why another reviewer said this dish lacked flavor, b/c it is full of flavor! We also like our food with a little kick, so I added about 1-2 tsp crushed red pepper (to taste). My husband raved about it and is already anxious to eat leftovers for lunch tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2002
I tried this recipe and absolutely loved it. I added white wine, used olive oil instead of butter (and used less than the listed amount of fat), and added extra sundried tomatoes that I made myself. I have been looking for a way to use up all these dried tomatoes, and this is wonderful! I also used penne pasta, but only half the called for amount, and had just the right amount of sauce. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2002
I was originally extremely excited to make this after reading the previous reviews and looking at the ingredients. But, I must say it was only mediocre, I was not impressed at all. The only differences between the original recipe and the way I cooked it is that I added teaspoon of italian seasoning and some artichoke hearts, both suggested in previous reviews. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
I was leary of the cream of chicken soup in this recipe- but it was really delicious. I only had canned tomato's and used them. It was very good. You could really make alot of variations. We will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ohiocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
This was very good! I changed a couple of things - tried to make it a little lower in fat. I doubled the sauce. I used 98% fat free cream of chicken. I used half of the butter. Also I used Basil & Oregano stewed tomatoes instead of sundried tomatoes (because that is what I had on hand!). It turned out really well! Will make again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
This was VERY GOOD!! I'm sad there weren't enough leftovers for both my husband and myself to take for lunch today! I read through many of the reviews and made several changes, one of which was halving the pasta (I used tri-color rotini), which made the amount of sauce just perfect! I used the "light" cream of mushroom soup, sauteed green onions and garlic in olive oil first (instead of butter), and added a splash of dry white wine. I also used Italian seasoning instead of parsley and added some crushed red pepper. I rehydrated my sundried tomatoes by tossing them in with the pasta! Worked great. I used fresh grated Parm as well. So tasty - I want to make it again soon! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2002
Great recipe! The only change I made is adding a little white wine to the sauce as it was cooking. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
I tried this recipe last night, but with a few alterations. The grocery store nearest to my house did not have the farfalle (bowtie) pasta, so I used rigatoni, and they were also out of sundried tomatos. Even without the sundried tomatos, it was SO GOOD. And if you like more garlic, don't be afraid to add more. I used at least 5 gloves of garlic and it probably could have used more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tracy, California, USA
Living In: Manteca, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
As suggested, I doubled the sauce (but used 3/4 cup butter instead of 1 cup when doubled) and added more sundried tomatoes. I also added sauteed asparagus and it was delicious (gave it a good color, too.) Also, I used parmesan cheese and it was very delicious. I served my family with slices of lemon and red chili flakes (optional side) and EVERYONE LOVED IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
I have made this several times and have always gotten great reviews. Easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Artichoke and Sun-dried Tomato Chicken

This simple Italian-inspired meal is ready in less than 45 minutes.

Chicken and Sun-Dried Tomato Bruschetta

Grilled chicken is tossed with spinach, feta, and tomatoes and served on toasts.

Creamy Parmesan & Sun-Dried Tomato Chicken Penne

See time-saving tips for a quick-and-easy chicken penne pasta dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States