Chicken Garlic Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
I think the "secret" is the sauce - sort of like a pesto, but not quite. I have to admit, I didn't have all the ingredients specified, so used leftover roasted chicken, feta instead of ricotta, and regular tomatoes instead of roma. I also made my own crust. But, this was an excellent recipe for the ideas and, as with most pizza recipes, it was pretty much adaptable for what was on hand in the kitchen and what we like. Thanks for the ideas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmartcookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
Alright, I got daring and changed things up a bit. Others commented on how they like red sauce on their pizza, so I thought I would give it a try. Well, it was great! I used Hunt's Garlic and Herb Spaghetti Sauce. I changed a few other things a little too. I made my own pizza dough using my bread machine, but the refrigerated pizza dough works fine too. I like to put the dough on my pizza stone and make breadsticks with the excess dough, but have also used a rectangular pan if I need more pizza. I then spread the herb butter over the dough. As per other reviews, I also added another 1/2 teaspoon dried basil, 1 tablespoon butter, and another garlic clove. This mixture barely covered the dough. After the thin layer of the herb butter mixture, I spooned on a layer of the Hunt's sauce. I then sprinkled some parmesan cheese and even some mozarella cheese (which I recommend) over it. I then added some chicken strips (Tyson's Fajita Chicken Strips because I was in a time crunch - it was fantastic and I have used it every time since!) and also added three Roma tomatoes instead of two. I found that chopping the tomatoes instead of slicing made them easier to eat on the pizza. I topped it with a sprinkle of cilantro. I'm a cilantro fan, but I agree with others, it was overpowering. I didn't even put in 1/4 cup. So, the next time I made this I put in even less. I would not omit it all together - it does add to the flavor. This pizza was so good! My husband absolutely LOVES it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
I liked the flavor combination, however 350 degrees for 15 to 20 minutes was not enough. I would next time have the temperature up to 425 for 15 to 20 minutes. Also, treat the pizza pan to prevent sticking. Otherwise, very good, and could be great with broccoli or other veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
Personally, this is the best pizza I ever had. It is very different from the traditional tomato-based, cheese-laden pizza. I made my own whole-wheat pizza crust, and grilled the chicken with cumin, paprika, chilli powder, onion powder and garlic and black pepper salt to give it more flavor. I used more garlic than required (since I love garlic!) and even added garlic powder into the butter (I used light margerine) mixture. It turned out fabulous. I also sprinkled on dried oregano and italian seasoning to give it a more herbie taste. You would like to add fresh sliced white mushrooms too! My husband and I love this pizza and I would definitely keep this recipe as long as I live! Thank you so much for this worthy recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jurong West, West Region, Singapore
Living In: Yokosuka, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
Excellent! I used 2 chicken breasts and cooked them in the butter/garlic pan. Also added a little mozzarella cheese. Would make a great appetizer if cut into smaller pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathie Weakly Pedigo

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
This is so yummy! the cilantro definitely adds a nice touch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lauraloves2run
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
This recipe was more delicious then I expected. I doubled the sauce and added mushrooms. I recommend adding 1.5 chicken breasts instead of one. Next time I think I am going to grill the chicken instead of boil it. I cooked this at 400 degrees as well and it turned out perfect! Thanks for an awesome recipe that I will make often. Update: This has become a regular in our household. Don't listen to reviews that say to add red sauce. The pesto-like basil-green onion sauce is one of the best things about this pizza. It also takes great on a homemade wheat crust. YUM! This is AWESOME.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauraloves2run

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
This is a very tasty recipe! The herb butter adds a great flavor to the pizza. It’s a nice change from the “traditional pizza”. You can really personalize this with any topping you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amys.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
This was a great, light pizza! Next time I make it I'll double the herb butter because it only covered 1/2 my crust. I did add an extra clove of garlic and an extra 1/2 tsp of dried basil. I grilled the chicken rather than boiling it and I seasoned it with Mrs. Dash table seasoning. It was very good that way. I also sliced the tomatoes rather than dicing and I used mozzarella cheese instead of ricotta because I just don't keep ricotta on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
We loved this easy recipe! I bought DiGourno pizza crust at the store instead of making my own. It turned out fabulous and I will be making it again and again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

Garlic and Parmesan Chicken Wings

See how to make garlicky, crispy chicken wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States