Chicken Garlic Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I've made this several times and my husband and I love it (my 5-year-old likes it, too, IF I omit the tomatoes on a few pieces for her). It says it makes 6 servings, but we can eat the entire pizza ourselves. Here's what I have done differently: 1) I have used ricotta and cottage cheese and both work fine. 2) My husband is not a fan of onions, so I leave those out. 3) I treat the pan w/cooking spray 4) I cook and de-bone a whole chicken, and use shredded chicken instead of a chicken breast. I always have enough chicken left to make another meal. 5) I double the butter sauce. We have found this recipe to be a great alternative to the regular, tomatoe-sauce variety pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rib Lake, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
A couple of notes: after reaching the boil for the chicken, I let it cook on low heat for 20 minutes. I was guessing you didn't mean to imply that the chicken should be *boiled* for all that time. Also, I used unsalted butter because it was what I had on hand. I also noted a discrepancy between "diced" tomatoes in the ingredient list and "slices" in step 4. I opted for diced tomatoes because it's the way I like tomatoes on pizzas. Now, I never even knew you could buy refrigerated pizza dough like that. I was surprised that it opened into a rectangle of dough, not a circle. I had a new circular pizza pan to try, so I tried to reshape the dough a bit, then gave up and used a rectangular cookie sheet, re-reshaping the dough. The resulting crust was a bit of a mess, shape-wise, so I didn't take a recipe photo like I almost always do. I thought this recipe was fairly good - 3 stars out of 5 - not great or fantastic. (For anybody reading this, I find I tend to rate recipes a star or so below many other reviewers, so you may rate this recipe even higher.) The herb butter preparation was interesting - a new technique for me. But I didn't especially like the use of ricotta on the pizza - just my personal tastes, maybe. Also, I thought this recipe could have used more of the herb/butter mixture, like a few other reviewers have suggested. All in all, I may try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
The lack of mozzerrella and tomato sauce make this much more like a hearty foccacia than a pizza but it is really delicious. I made the pizza dough and the only other thing i changed was to leave out teh cilantro adn add carmalized onions but it was absolutely delicious. Make sure to use enough of the butter so the dough doesnt dry out, (putting the tomatos on the bottom layer also helps) and give the garlic butter time to sit and absorb the flavors. Fantastic recipe but not really pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
We found it to be lacking something. The butter/garlic mixture definitely wasn't quite enough. I would *at least* double it next time. I think it would be good with caramelized onions, and I would definitely season the chicken the next time I make it. All in all, it wasn't a complete bust... just needs something to give it a bit of extra zip. I will DEFINITELY make it again, so don't underestimate it's potential!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
This was okay, I wasn't as impressed with this as I thought I was going to be. I doubled the butter-garlic sauce which helped and used chicken, cottage cheese, tomatoes, red onion, green pepper, and mozzarella as toppings. I also used Jay's pizza crust which may have been part of the problem, it was okay but kind of thick and doughy. I will probably try this again either on a Boboli crust or with Jay's pizza crust but just using half of it. My husban really liked it but I was looking for more of a creamy butter-garlic sauce I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
This was not a complete bust, but it was just so-so. I probably wouldn't make this for my family again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
This was really easy and good. I skipped the cilantro and used a regular onion instead of green. My pizza dough was store bought and turned out to be much too thick and doughy with a sour taste, so I would suggest a nice thin dough instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
Made this recipe exactly as written - very disappointed - thought it was very blah - the kids liked it though. Would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
This recipe was really good. I used green onions, more butter than called for and added mushrooms. I also grilled my chicken instead of boiling it. My husband raved and raved about it. I will make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuvMyFF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
Everyone loved this pizza, and I even forgot to add the parmesan! Can't imagine how good it will be when I add it next time. I did double the garlic butter mixture, but other than that, followed to the letter. It did need to be baked a bit beyond the stated time as the crust was not nearly done when first checked. This one is certainly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Goodyear, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

Garlic and Parmesan Chicken Wings

See how to make garlicky, crispy chicken wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States