Chicken Frittata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
I was also concerned that this dish might be bland, and do wish that I had added a little salt and pepper to the eggs before pouring them over the solid mixture. Without that, though, it was actually pretty flavorful, but I did a couple of things a little differently from the recipe. Used olive oil instead of butter and only a teaspoon. I also used celery root instead of potatoes. That, in itself, really makes this an amazing dish. The other thing I did was add about an ounce of a combination of fresh herbs -- thyme, oregano, and rosemary. This was definitely a dish to make again, but leave yourself some time. The other reviewers were right about this taking longer than 25 minutes to make. I baked mine at 400 degrees but it took 55 minutes before it was finished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Easy and tasty -- very easy way to use leftovers and serve a filling brunch to a lot of people. I omitted the mushrooms, used leftover baked potatoes and broccoli, and added some frozen spinach. I made enough for about 12 people and put it in two pans to bake. It took about 35 minutes and I had to turn the oven up (although my oven temp may have been inaccurate.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
I anticipated that it might be bland so I added about 1.5 Tbsp of thyme and a few shakes of hot sauce. I'm glad I did. Baking time 50 - 55 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I halfed the ingredients as only two of us will eat this creation. The potaoes were omitted, for me it's just a little much. I used chicken and a little breakfast sausage because all the reviews have additional seasonings listed. This took about 40 minutes to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
Takes 55 minutes to bake, so plan accordingly. I made without the chicken (vegetarian) and it was great. This recipe goes into a cake pan-size baking dish, so make sure you have enough mouths when you make it. Really Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clearview

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
I experienced the same timing problem when baking the frittata. 50 minutes was a good time. I can confirm that you will need a large bowl to mix everything together and the cake pan is also a good idea. I thought the dish was very delicious and so did my husband but we also used a fully cooked and marinated sundried tomato and basil turkey breast instead of the chicken and that gave it a wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
I have made this recipe twice and it was excellent both times. Lighter than the usual egg and sausage breakfast casseroles. Ham and asparagus worked well in place of chicken and broccoli. One hint I would offer when making this for the first time: I found that the amount of food that goes into this dish didn't fit in a medium size mixing bowl or baking dish as suggested in the recipe. I used a large mixing bowl and a 9x13 baking pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
This is a good recipe, but i like to add tons of random spices and start mine on the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ObeyGreatness79
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Add salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
The flavor of this dish is good, I however had the same issue as other reviewers with the cook time. At 25 minutes it was not done so I added another 15. After the dish sat for 10 minutes while I served and got everyone to the table it was over cooked. I would recommend you undercook the dish slightly and let it sit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Tetrazzini

See how to make an easy baked chicken tetrazzini.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Potato and Pepper Frittata

See how to make an amazing potato and pepper lunch or brunch treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States