Chicken Fried Venison Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
This was really good. However my whole family hunts so we have a lot of wild meat. (which is the healthiest for you) The way we prepare our venison and elk steaks is the way we would do a beef steak, We spead it with olive oil,using a pastry brush, shake on our seasonings,let set about ten minutes, place them on the preheated grill seasoned side down, brush top side with olive oil and shake on seasonings. Only grill each side for 5 - 8 minutes, You never want to overcook wild game. It comes out delicious this way and very moist, (unless you overcook it) Wild game has not got a lot of fat, it is very lean and very healthy because of that. Some people feel, that because it is wild, it needs to be cooked a long time, not true! Rare to med rare is the best for wild game.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prairie City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
I loved this recipe! the coating was crispy, the meat succulent and tender, and the gravy was divine. I am not a fan of chicken fried recipes, but this almost reminded me of a schnitzel, and was heavenly in every mouthful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wsf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Riverdale, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I thought this recipe was great! the breadcrumb/cornmeal mix was yummy and the carmelized onion was tasty and nice for presentation. I served over white rice and doubled the milk for the gravy since I had plenty of bread crumb mixture left. husband said it was interesting and different (than other chicken fried venison he'd had) but definitely good. I would even try frying veggies in this mix. I did think the egg/milk mixture was a little runny and I would have liked to taste more of the pepper sauce so I'd cut back on the milk there next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 1gdcowgrl gone
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Oh, Deer!! These were fantastic steaks. Tender and tasty. I don't usually measure unless I'm baking but opted to do so with this recipe as it was my first time cooking venison and I didn't want to screw this up. I made a salt water brine and soaked my venison steaks for 4 hours prior to preparing them. I had 4 steaks and barely had enough of the breading mixture for all 4, so there wasn't any left for the gravy. Cooked these in my electric skillet at 325 degrees, 4 minutes per side and didn't crowd the skillet (that lowers the oil's temperature and affects your final outcome) I've never caramelized onions in hot oil, so I skipped that part. I caramelize using the low and slow method. I opted to make a simple bechamel sauce since I had no bread crumbs left. This was loved by the whole family and I tell you....I don't want another plain ol' chicken fried steak. I want mine to be made with venison from now on. Thanks so much for this recipe and for showing my husband that deer meat can be delicious when cooked properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1gdcowgrl gone
Home Town: Marlow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2009
I have been making a variation of this recipe for years. I don't use cornmeal and instead bread the steaks with flour. I also make plain white gravy. Mashed potatoes on the side is excellant. Everyone in my family loves this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: Stanton, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Everything was very tastey and since I field dress and butcher my own deer, you couldn't even tell that it was venison. For the hot sauce, I used sirachi. It's the perfect heat without an overwhelming hot sauce taste. I toasted the remaining crumbs and used the left over egg/milk mixture plus some additional milk to make the gravy. The flavor was fine but the texture wasn't right. Too gritty. I might use a little of the bread crumb mixture along with some flour the next time I make this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn Hills, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I am always looking for new recipes for venison, my kids wouldn't know what beef tastes like. Once done cooking the onions I put them in a separate bowl because my son loves gravy but hates onions. Then, we were able to add however much onions that we wanted to our steaks. This is a keeper in our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Herrick, Illinois, USA
Living In: Beecher City, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
A new recipe for the menu rotation. We have LOTS of deer meat (that's the way we say it in the Ozarks) in the freezer. Never know what to do with ham steaks. Great! I just used regular flour for the gravy...didn't have any of the breadcrumb/cornmeal left after dredging. Good flavor. Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSLAURIE84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linton, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Very good! This was a different way to prepare the vinison cube steak I had and we all loved it. The gravy came out really thick but I just added more milk to the mixture. I will be using this recipe again here soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I followed this pretty closely and it is pretty much inedible. Way too much cornmeal and the gravy turned out thick as paste. I have to find something else for dinner now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Chicken Fried Chicken

Have the kids help you make this tasty fried chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States