Chicken Fried Venison Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I love this way to use venison. I discovered it one night when I had forgotten to start marinating the steaks until we were already getting hungry. It's great because it's quick and really, really good. However, I have discovered that the cut is really important; venison steaks are just roasts (or other cuts) that have been cut into slices, so pay attention to which cut the steaks are coming from. This recipe is best with steaks from more tender cuts like the sirloin or eye of round, since there's no marinade to help the tenderizing. Also, try a bit of worcestershire on the finished steaks and—this is important—use bacon grease instead of oil. Bacon makes it better \m/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Very good...didn't have bread crumbs so I used crushed up Ranch flavored Doritos, hubby and kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
i cut my steaks into strips so the kids would be interested in trying. very very good! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichaeleM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elberfeld, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lyons, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Good base recipe...helps me to have breakdown of ratios (breadcrumbs-to-flour, etc.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina B. Cookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: York, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
In order to make this more tasty I use shortening instead of vegetable oil. Also, instead of using bread crumbs you only have to season your flour with pepper, garlic salt, red pepper, and any other flavors you like. I coat the venison in the dry mixture, then in the egg wash and then back in the dry mixture. Delicious every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
very tasty and tender
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jerry C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Belle Plaine, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
very, very good. I didn't have breadcrumbs but I used Panko crumbs. My husband and I loved the flavor and the tenderness of the steaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
This was soooooo good. Everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Hochstein

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Yes! yes! Yes!!!!! My fiance loved his chicken fried steak tonight.. He wanted me to do something different with the steak, I'm not a huge fan of fried foods, but this gets all thumbs up! I'm going to add this to my regular meal recipes!!!! Thanx sooo much!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
This recipe was amazing! I used italian bread crumbs because those were what I had. Hubby loved it. I loved it. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Chicken Fried Chicken

Have the kids help you make this tasty fried chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States