Chicken Fried Steak III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2003
I cooked this for my whole family and they loved it! Even my three year old wanted seconds. The gravy is pretty spicey, so if you have little ones you might want to cut back on the chili powder. The steaks had kick to them, but not too much. I don't know how some people have had problems with the breading. This is the first recipe that I've used where you actually get a nice coat of breading. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flyingfree74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2003
My family loved this! My Husband asks for it all the time. Even my 3 year old asked for seconds! Definitely a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2003
Sounded like a good idea, but my execution was horrible. Like some other users, the breading refused to stay on the steak and just dispersed around the oil. The gravy also tasted like dirt for some reason. I am guessing i did something wrong, and I made a single serving rather than 3 lbs. Oh well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
Ty had a craving for chicken fried steak and being that I've only made it once before, I decided to try a different recipe. The gang loved it although I did do the bread crumb thing in addition to the flour. I deleted the "salt" part of the seasonings and added a can of Golden Mushroom Soup" to the gravy. The girls and hubby devoured the cube steaks I used and the delicious gravy laden mashed spuds. Terrific Gail!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
This was good, but not great. A little too oily for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
I too had a problem with the coating sticking to the meat as an earlier reviwer mentioned but I thought it tasted wonderful anyway (using a tbsp less chili powder)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
This is a great recipe my kids even love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
Really great...Tastes just like a resturant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIBBY1979

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2002
I am a huge chicken fried steak fan! This was quite different than the usual (white gravy) recipe I am used to. However,I would recommend that the chili powder be reduced...it was a bit overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2002
I thought this recipe was aweful. The coating did not stick to the steaks after cooked and the gravy was AWEFUL!!! I will never use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States