Chicken Fried Steak III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
Delicious! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
I have been making the steak part of this recipe for about 6 years and love the way the steak turns out. I add an extra egg to the egg mixture, but do everything else same. I've never had a problem with the breading falling off. I made the gravy for the first time last week and it was terrible. I am going to give it another try, but only put two teaspoons of salt in the flour mixture and reduce the chilli powder. I also didn't need all the left over flour for the gravy...It would be nice to have an exact measurement on the flour needed in case you don't make as many steaks. I think this will be awesome when i get it figured out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
i have never made this chicken fried steak before in my life, this recipe had it's hits and misses. i loved the extra flavor the cayanne added to the breading however the gravy was just too much working against the flavor of the steak. even cutting half of the chili powder out like other reviews suggested still didn't dull the chili powder flavor, it over powered the entire meal so much so that my son said that it was too spicey. next time i am anxious to keep the breading recipe but try the steak with a white gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monaca, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
Secret - Use a cast iron pan for frying. This turned out excellent! I did not make this gravy however. I had 1-1/2 pounds of cube steak and 1/2'd the recipe. Though I did use a total of three eggs and I did put approx. 1/4 cup of flour in the eggs. I thought it worked perfectly. The batter was not too thick, but the crispy covering it made to the steaks was scrumdelicious. We all chowed down on this one. Mashed Potatoes and corn was perfect. And some garlic cheese biscuits! Heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JILLTOONS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
Pretty good- my first attempt at chicken fried steak and my husband LOVED it! Not too hard to do- just have to watch the heat on the stove top and babysit it for a while so not to over cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
I did as others suggested and added all the spices to the flour mixture and cut out the salt. The flavor was good, according to my southern-born husband! Thanks! However, I will not follow the recipe next time and add all the leftover flour to the gravy mix. I had a gloppy mess. Which was probably my own fault, as I should have added it more gradually. Anyway, I wound up just whipping up a batch of my own country gravy.But overall the recipe was very good. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
I just made this tonight, and it was delicious. I took the other reviewers' recommendations and reduced the chili powder. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
I made a composite of this recipe. Instead of putting the majority of the seasonings in the gravy, I put them all in the flour mix. Doing that and following the steps of dredging in flour, egg, then flour again, this made the most fantastic chicken fried steak I have ever had! My fiance loved this, as well, claiming it was also the best he'd ever had. It was definitely awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fontana, California, USA
Living In: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
Very very good. I did not use the beef boullion but it was still very good. It was almost as good as the "saltine" based recipes. I used paula deens house seasoning mix recipe (on food network) in the flour mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Ladysmith, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
This is a good basic recipe but there were parts I left out. I tried to dip it in the flour mix with eggs but it ended up being such a goo glob that I ended up adding water to it to get it to work. I don't like a coating of eggs underneath the batter. Also, under the advice of others I didn't put in the hot pepper spices in the gravy. The gravy turned out great otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tangastar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States