Chicken Fried Steak III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
Great steak, awful gravy! The gravy is so salty you can't taste anything else in the meal - it is more like taco seasoning. I love spicy dishes, but this tastes like cheap fast food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
I have always wanted to make Chicken Fried steak but this was my first attempt. The flavor was wonderful! My family loved it...but the breading fell off the steak, maybe I dried them off too much ... will definately experiement some more with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I have made this recipe twice now. The first time I followed the recipe as directed. The gravy had too much chili powder in it. The 2nd time I halved the chili powder. I still think the chili powder overpowered it. I should have thinned out the gravy w/ water or milk as suggested by another reviewer. Personally I prefer a white gravy on my chicken fried steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
Delicious! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
I have been making the steak part of this recipe for about 6 years and love the way the steak turns out. I add an extra egg to the egg mixture, but do everything else same. I've never had a problem with the breading falling off. I made the gravy for the first time last week and it was terrible. I am going to give it another try, but only put two teaspoons of salt in the flour mixture and reduce the chilli powder. I also didn't need all the left over flour for the gravy...It would be nice to have an exact measurement on the flour needed in case you don't make as many steaks. I think this will be awesome when i get it figured out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
i have never made this chicken fried steak before in my life, this recipe had it's hits and misses. i loved the extra flavor the cayanne added to the breading however the gravy was just too much working against the flavor of the steak. even cutting half of the chili powder out like other reviews suggested still didn't dull the chili powder flavor, it over powered the entire meal so much so that my son said that it was too spicey. next time i am anxious to keep the breading recipe but try the steak with a white gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monaca, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
Secret - Use a cast iron pan for frying. This turned out excellent! I did not make this gravy however. I had 1-1/2 pounds of cube steak and 1/2'd the recipe. Though I did use a total of three eggs and I did put approx. 1/4 cup of flour in the eggs. I thought it worked perfectly. The batter was not too thick, but the crispy covering it made to the steaks was scrumdelicious. We all chowed down on this one. Mashed Potatoes and corn was perfect. And some garlic cheese biscuits! Heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JILLTOONS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
Pretty good- my first attempt at chicken fried steak and my husband LOVED it! Not too hard to do- just have to watch the heat on the stove top and babysit it for a while so not to over cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
I did as others suggested and added all the spices to the flour mixture and cut out the salt. The flavor was good, according to my southern-born husband! Thanks! However, I will not follow the recipe next time and add all the leftover flour to the gravy mix. I had a gloppy mess. Which was probably my own fault, as I should have added it more gradually. Anyway, I wound up just whipping up a batch of my own country gravy.But overall the recipe was very good. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Kotz Walls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
I just made this tonight, and it was delicious. I took the other reviewers' recommendations and reduced the chili powder. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States