Chicken Fried Steak I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
very good only gave 4 because made my own gravy and added to it as well. Didn't have buttermilk so used milk with lemon and added panko bread crumbs to flour..gravy 2 tbspoons butter melted over low flame added 2 tablespoons flour stir over low flame add 1and1/2 c beef or chicken stock slowly stir in constantly over low flame if to thick add some milk which I did if to thin add flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Coxsackie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
hubby loved it, but my son wouldn't touch it. i didn't make the gravy, either. i'm sure i'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lockesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
I did not care for this recipe at all. I'll give it 2 stars, however, because I liked the meat. The steak was very flavorful, and I'd possibly make it again, but I did not like the gravy adn will NEVER make it again. I wasn't expecting a brown gravy (is it supposed to be brown???) - I was hoping for a creamy, peppery, white gravy. Even if the gravy was what I expected it to be, it didn't turn out anyways. I have had trouble in the past with thickening sauces, etc., so part of the problem had to do with the chef :) I ended up opening a package of white gravy mix because chicken fried steak just isn't the same without it! This goes well with mashed potatoes and green beans. I think I'll keep looking for the perfect recipe.... Hopefully this will be a winner for someone else. Thanks anyways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
This is quite similar to the recipe I grew up with. Chicken-fried steak was one of my mother's specialties, and this approximates her "recipe." The gravy is absolutely awesome and is just like you might find at a good family restaurant! I did add a couple of teaspoons of chicken bouillon, which made the gravy taste a little fuller. The buttermilk didn't seem to appreciably effect the flavor, though it does make a thicker liquid mixture, which probably helped the flour stick to the meat better. Mom taught me to use cast iron skillets for chicken-fried steak--the cast iron skillets and temperature of the grease--are the keys to getting the breading to adhere to the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
This recipe sounded interesting but was far too much grease for the little flavor provided by the batter - maybe try it again with more spices??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
Breading was extremely difficult to work with. Breading started cooking but fell off meat when removed from pan. I have had much more success with other breading recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
I had never used buttermilk with my chicken fried steak, I liked this change. I made sure the grease was hot enough and I had no problem with breading sticking. I added a couple teaspoons of chicken boullion to the gravy to give it more flavor I think that helped a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coffeen, Illinois, USA
Living In: Athens, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
Love this recipe. Used tenderized round steak, after breading it, let it rest for a few minutes before frying. I deep fried this in a wok,frying 2 steaks (about4"x5"). Was surprised that the meat absorbed less fat than I expected. Family loved it, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Marlin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
This is such a tastey dinner. We usually make it with garlic smashed potatoes and green beans. This is the perfect comfort food meal to eat on a fall night. In fact, I think we'll have it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHICK4URBAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
The recipe was ok. I found that the breading started to fall off. I increased the heat of the oil and it worked out good, it didn't fall off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States