Chicken Fried Steak I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
This wasn't the best chicken fried steak I've had. My husband enjoyed it, and I did think it was okay, but I have a different recipe I'll continue to use instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4my4girls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
This was very good. I used hot oil and kept the breaded meat chilled in the fridge to help the breading stay attached to the meat. Unfortunately, I left the meat too thick and it took it a little too long to cook thoroughly. This had a great flavor and my husband has already claimed the leftovers for lunch, and requested it too be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
It was a pretty good recipe for chicken fried steak. It was a little bland. So after the first try, I seasoned the steaks in creole seasoning. It gave it more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
I took 2 other review recommendations and the steak came out perfect. I made my own gravy which is similar to the one given. I let it set ten minutes after dredging and I made sure that my oil was hot. The coating stayed and we had a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rathdrum, Idaho, USA
Living In: Ramona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
This was a pretty simple recipe which my husabnd enjoyed. I found that the coating came off if you turned to steak over too early.. be sure to wait, and us a spatula to help it stay on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
family loved this,I think some people didnt know how to make a roux and thats why their gravy turned out tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
Not our favorite but I will try again spicing it up even more then deep fry in canola oil for a crispier coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
Loved this recipe. Reminded me of mom's.I did add 1/4 teaspoon of chili powder and a 1/2 teaspoon of onion powder to the flour since i like a wee bit more of a kick. After breading the steaks,i let them "weep" a bit. (allow the floured steaks to sit about 10 minutes. This is a simple yet effective method to keep all kinds of breading clinging to your meat. :) The gravy i added a package of onion soup mix and 1/4 cup of beef broth for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pyewacket

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altus, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
Fabulous!! My husband loved it. He asked me to make it again a few nights later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
Very good chicken fried steak - it's quite comparable to the big chain restaurants' recipes! I will definately make this again, however, the gravey was slightly bland. Next time I might add some cayan pepper to it, along with more salt and pepper. However, the steak was excellent. I expected the coating to be weak and thin, but this was very crunchy and delicious. I highly reccommend this recipe to others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States