Chicken Fried Steak I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Very good! I've never made Chicken Fried Steak before and it turned out great. I think the buttermilk makes all the difference. Will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: May 4, 2010
This was a great recipe. I didn't have buttermilk and used "sour milk" but I could taste it and won't do that again. No one else tasted the "sour" so it was probably just me. My husband raved over this and this is one of his all time favorite dishes. He did ask for double the garlic next time. I doubled the flour though so it was an equal amount to the grease for the gravy because that is how I was taught and equal amount of grease/butter to flour. This made A LOT of gravy, even more than we needed. Thanks, this was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
This was really good! Added salt, pepper, more garlic powder, onion powder, & paprika to the flour. Crushed up some saltines and used those as the final coating for extra crunchiness. Terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Definitely a hit! The only thing I did different was use lean groundbeef. I made the patties very thin and they came out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Just fixed this for my extended family. I followed the recipe exactly except I used 6 cubes steaks. They LOVED it and I was quite impressed on how it turned out. I will FOR SURE be making this again. It's now a favorite on my dinner spinner app.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BerBer23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cabot, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
I used cube steak and while it was delicious... I couldn't keep the cube steak from falling apart while dipping it in the milk and flour. Any pointers?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETMARIE24

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I have never made nor eaten chicken fried steak. And, I never will again! A friend requested this. Having never heard of such a thing, I logged on and searched for a recipe to try. I'm sure it's a matter of what you're used to eating, but this was dreadful! I could feel my arteries slamming closed even before I swallowed my first bite! What a terrible thing to do to a steak! My friend ate it and deemed it "alright", but may have just been being polite. The kids took one bite & no more. They actually ate their vegetables instead. It was incredibly greasy, even after draining on paper towels, the coating only stuck properly to a couple of the cutlets, the gravy was bland and tasted like flour fried in fat. Since there were so many wonderful reviews, I will just chalk this up to a difference in tastes & perhaps my cooking it for the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lilburn, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
I have been making Chicken Fried Steak for years and was a cook in a restaurant in Tomball Texas famous for their CFS recipe, I tried yours and LOVE IT...Thanks a lot for another amazing recipe that I can add to my collection. I also, bread mine when the meat is semi frozen, that way it does not fall apart while you are putting the breading mix on it. THanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Magnolia, Texas, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
my new favorite !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Wonderful!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Oh my gosh! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mynce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendora, California, USA
Living In: Longview, Washington, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States