Chicken Fried Steak I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
This was very good. I used hot oil and kept the breaded meat chilled in the fridge to help the breading stay attached to the meat. Unfortunately, I left the meat too thick and it took it a little too long to cook thoroughly. This had a great flavor and my husband has already claimed the leftovers for lunch, and requested it too be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
It was a pretty good recipe for chicken fried steak. It was a little bland. So after the first try, I seasoned the steaks in creole seasoning. It gave it more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
I took 2 other review recommendations and the steak came out perfect. I made my own gravy which is similar to the one given. I let it set ten minutes after dredging and I made sure that my oil was hot. The coating stayed and we had a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rathdrum, Idaho, USA
Living In: Ramona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
This was a pretty simple recipe which my husabnd enjoyed. I found that the coating came off if you turned to steak over too early.. be sure to wait, and us a spatula to help it stay on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
family loved this,I think some people didnt know how to make a roux and thats why their gravy turned out tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
Not our favorite but I will try again spicing it up even more then deep fry in canola oil for a crispier coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
Loved this recipe. Reminded me of mom's.I did add 1/4 teaspoon of chili powder and a 1/2 teaspoon of onion powder to the flour since i like a wee bit more of a kick. After breading the steaks,i let them "weep" a bit. (allow the floured steaks to sit about 10 minutes. This is a simple yet effective method to keep all kinds of breading clinging to your meat. :) The gravy i added a package of onion soup mix and 1/4 cup of beef broth for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pyewacket

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altus, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
Fabulous!! My husband loved it. He asked me to make it again a few nights later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
Very good chicken fried steak - it's quite comparable to the big chain restaurants' recipes! I will definately make this again, however, the gravey was slightly bland. Next time I might add some cayan pepper to it, along with more salt and pepper. However, the steak was excellent. I expected the coating to be weak and thin, but this was very crunchy and delicious. I highly reccommend this recipe to others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
very good only gave 4 because made my own gravy and added to it as well. Didn't have buttermilk so used milk with lemon and added panko bread crumbs to flour..gravy 2 tbspoons butter melted over low flame added 2 tablespoons flour stir over low flame add 1and1/2 c beef or chicken stock slowly stir in constantly over low flame if to thick add some milk which I did if to thin add flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Coxsackie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States