Chicken Fried Steak I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I love chicken fried steak....and this recipe was a little differnt then the one usually use...it was delicious...the only change I made was that I used canned sausge cravy....the white gravy and the sausage gave it just the right flavoring..i served it with creamy mashed potatoes and a nice salad...every one loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Great recipe, easy to follow. Made a fabulous gravy from the drippings by adding flour and a bit of milk. Was excellent with egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSLGAINES

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
Absolutely wonderful recipe. very good, the whole family loved it! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Black Diamond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Excellent!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
I made this using 2 lbs of beef and found the flour and egg mixture was plenty. So if only using 1 lb, try halving the flour and egg mixture. I used vegetable oil in a castiron pan that was HOT to make the breading stick. Do not use olive oil as theis does not seem to work as well. Cast iron is best compared to non-stick or other pans to insure that the breading stays on the beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Meyers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Thought this was awesome..... gravy needs alittle extra seasoning for our taste... but we will definetly use this recipe again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
This was very good, however I did not have buttermilk. I mixed eggs and milk and instead of just plain flour I used half corn starch. To the flour mixture I added celery salt, garlic powder and onion powder. For the gravy I have come to use a country gravy mix from Sam's Club. To the water I mix in a few teaspoons of chicken bullion paste which makes the flavor amazing and not just bland flour gravy. All in all this is a very nice recipe making some adjustments for flavor. Also, I used my deep fryer to cook these 2 at a time, placing the 2 cooked on a baking sheet in a low heat oven to keep warm while the other 2 cooked. Very nice, thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wick of Twizt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tecumseh, Michigan, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
I loved this easy but messy dinner idea. I kicked it up a bit with cayenne spice. I used a sour cream with dill for dipping sauce. My family just loved how it turned out crispy yet super fall apart in your mouth. I used swiss steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanverona

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Verona, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
This was really good. The sirloin was a bit chewy. But, I thought it still tasted good. I overbrowned the steaks a bit, so it probably needs to get turned after about 5-8 mins. The gravy was a little bland, but that was my fault because I forgot to season with salt and pepper. But, I thought it was still yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynnshamrock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josie A

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States