Chicken Fried Steak I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
This was a great recipe. I followed another reviewer's advice and floured, egged, and re-floured carefully. This seemed to do the trick of keeping the breading from falling off: only one piece had part of it's breading fall off. Yummy and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
if you want chicken fried steak this recipe is a winner. great crust. i held it in a warm oven on a rack while i finished the meal. it was a big hit. the gravy was good. i did add a chicken bouillon cube to kick up the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carolyn1953

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ozark, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
I really hate leaving a bad review... It could be totally my fault I followed the recipe exactly but did not want all the grease so tried to pan-fry in just a few Tbsp of oil. The breading fell apart and was soggy. The taste was super bland even though I doubled the seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Back2Basicsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I don't know if I did anything wrong...I think I followed the recipe accurately but...this was practically inedible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I have always had success with this recipe. I add hot sauce directly to the raw meat before coating it and that gives it a nice, subtle kick. I also add fresh, sauteed garlic to the gravy. The meat always cooks up tender and the breading is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This is the best Chicken fried steak I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I made this recipe the other night and while after deepfrying the breaded part of the steak ould come off I still found this recipe very easy to make.. I had never made Chicken Fried Steak before and I thoroughly enjoyed making it!! And I always know it's a good one when my fiance doesn't talk during the actual eating portion of dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CandisMarie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alloway, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I did not care for this recipe. The coating fell apart in the pan and I tried to make the gravy with no success. It tasted awful and very bland, I added salt and pepper and it came out like a thick paste. I will not be cooking this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Owl Fanatic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elwood, Indiana, USA
Living In: East Rutherford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Turned out really well! My family loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I love chicken fried steak....and this recipe was a little differnt then the one usually use...it was delicious...the only change I made was that I used canned sausge cravy....the white gravy and the sausage gave it just the right flavoring..i served it with creamy mashed potatoes and a nice salad...every one loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States