Chicken Fried Steak Cuban Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
This recipe is great. I love chicken friend steak, but this is the first time I have ever attempted to make it myself. The spices in the breading mixture added a nice background taste, but they were not over powering. The thing I really loved is the slight lemon flavor the garnish gave. We ended up topping ours with fresh squeezed lemon we liked it so much. The only thing I would change is, the recipe made way too much breading mixture. I would cut that in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2001
Simple recipe that was delicious. We normally stay away from frying, but this was a treat. Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2001
Classic Bistec Empanizado...long a family favorite around here! I love cumin, but never thought about adding it to the bread crumbs...it adds a great touch. Goes great with white rice, black beans, and sweet plantains. A Must Try recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2001
Though the cumin may give to it an added flavor, or twist, this is the classical "Shnitsel Viennese"... And, as such, it is a wonderful and quick dish, still! Kids are just crazy about it! In Israel, whwre it's much eaten, the coating is mixed with grounde corn (from which the Polente is made), or with grounded garlic, the sky is the limit). Bon Appetite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2003
I had always wanted to try making country fried steak, and this recipe was perfect. My family voted to definitely have this again in the future - and often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Kryvko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hazelwood, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2004
My boyfriend and I loved this recipe!!! I followed it exactly, but I did use garlic & herb flavored bread crumbs. We both added fresh lemon juice to the steaks...YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2004
This was simple and very tasty. Knowing my family's taste for spice I generously added lemon pepper, garlic powder and enough cayenne pepper to make a difference. The breading came out browned and crispy - add the lemon wedges and you've got happy taste buds :) Inspired by another reviewer I served this with black beans and fried bananas (I didn't have plantains)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
i think this recipe is very good my husband and children love it...just don't turn your oil up too high or your cube steaks will be burned by the end. thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
I cut the steaks in half so they would be more easily handled, This makes enought for four! Crispy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
These were a great change to the batter and deep fried steaks. I added a dash of red pepper to spice it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States