Chicken Fried Steak Cuban Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
Being Cuban, I grew up on "bistec empanizado," but my family's recipe is slightly different from this one. I omit the cumin (which I am not fond of) and the oregano, and substite garlic powder for those seasonings. I sprinkle the steaks liberally with lemon and garlic powder before cooking for best taste. This is the way my grandpa used to make them, and it is the recipe I still swear by, with white rice, black beans, fried plantains and yuca con mojo (cassava root salted and boiled and served with a warm dressing of olive oil, lemon, garlic and onion).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
This recipe is great. I love chicken friend steak, but this is the first time I have ever attempted to make it myself. The spices in the breading mixture added a nice background taste, but they were not over powering. The thing I really loved is the slight lemon flavor the garnish gave. We ended up topping ours with fresh squeezed lemon we liked it so much. The only thing I would change is, the recipe made way too much breading mixture. I would cut that in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
Love this recipe. My husband and I both love cuban food. This is wonderful. A little bland by itself however, but to liven it up I added a topping of...can of diced tomatoes with (mild or reg) green chilies, packet of Sazon seasoning, some chopped onion, minced garlic, oregano and some corn starch to thicken. Makes a wonderful topping for the steak. Also served with yellow rice, black beans and corn. Delicious meal! A hit everytime! Roxie, Thanks so much for submitting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
Found this recipe to be a wonderful update on an old comfort food.I chose a little healthier version by sauteing in olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2001
Classic Bistec Empanizado...long a family favorite around here! I love cumin, but never thought about adding it to the bread crumbs...it adds a great touch. Goes great with white rice, black beans, and sweet plantains. A Must Try recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2002
So delicious and easy. Tasted great the next day too! I fried my steak in olive oil with fresh garlic. I also added some garlic powder and Mrs. Dash to my bread crumbs. Yumskers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2004
This was simple and very tasty. Knowing my family's taste for spice I generously added lemon pepper, garlic powder and enough cayenne pepper to make a difference. The breading came out browned and crispy - add the lemon wedges and you've got happy taste buds :) Inspired by another reviewer I served this with black beans and fried bananas (I didn't have plantains)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
2 cups of oil for frying is excessive not to mention unhealthy. I found that not even 1/2 that is plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natncody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I liked this! It was easy and tasty. I didn't use cumin and oregano, I used garlic salt and lemon pepper b/c I didn't have an actual lemon and I wanted that flavor. Will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Largo, Florida, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
awesome, we wished it made more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marie_faux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States