Chicken Fried Steak Cuban Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
I think that was alot of breadcrumbs, so i had to save most of it for other times, and i really liked the cumin and oregano! unfortunately, like a goof, i used the wrong oil, (avacado oil) and we did not get the full flavor. Maybe next time i make it it will be crunchier and i can make a better review!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I made this and I used Lawrys seasoning salt and garlic pepper. It was DELICIOUS. My family Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
I just made this tonight for a few of my Hispanic friends and even I though there wasn't enough flavor to it. I know country fried steak isn't supposed to be very flavorful, but I though it would use a lot more then what was required for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Needs a little extra kick but quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
This was a great recipe for my family. I did modify it slightly by dredging the steak in flour, then egg, then the breadcrumbs. I also added all the spices plus paprika and ms dash to the flour, & pepper flakes to the bread crumbs for a spicier bite. I also cooked them in just enough oil to cover the bottom of the pan. They turned out great and my family loved them. Thanks for the recipe. UPDATE: I've made this several times now and it gets better every time. I've taken to cutting the steaks into fingers which cook much quicker then standing them on end in a paper towel lined pan to drain. I serve with homemade mashed potatoes and green beans. I use the oil and dredge flour to make an out of this world gravy for both the steaks and potatoes. Best Comfort Food Ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
2 cups of oil for frying is excessive not to mention unhealthy. I found that not even 1/2 that is plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natncody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I liked this! It was easy and tasty. I didn't use cumin and oregano, I used garlic salt and lemon pepper b/c I didn't have an actual lemon and I wanted that flavor. Will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Largo, Florida, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
An easy, delicious dinner entree that's true to non-criollo Cuban cookery. Cuban cooking is not highly spiced, as are some criollo cookery but is still adequately seasoned. You can heat it up as did some reviewers. I enjoyed it as printed but did cook it in a non-skillet pan with a small amount of olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Even my picky eaters loved this dish! I made this with buttered noodles, steamed asparagus, and the Special Lemonade - the five of us can't wait to have it again! I did not change anything in the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minot, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
awesome, we wished it made more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Chmielewski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States