Chicken Fricassee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
I enjoyed this recipe, and I will probably make it again. However, I do have a disclaimer--I used HALF of the cayenne pepper called for, and it was still pretty darn hot. I would suggest adding the spices a little at a time, tasting the broth after each addition, until you have it as hot as you want it. Another note: I bought bone-in chicken thighs and boiled them ahead of time with some Old Bay Seasoning. When I discovered how hot the stuff was going to be, I added some of the leftover broth to the mixture to cool it down. When we were eating, I realized that I could taste a strong chickeny/Old Bay flavor from the broth, and I just don't think that the recipe would've been as good without it. So, next time I'll probably just use cups of broth instead of water to make it a heartier dish. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
We LOVED this dish. We have had it twice in the past few weeks, and it is still wonderful. I did change a few things: 1) I didn't use any oil and just mixed the flour with some water as I thought the chicken thighs and sausage had enough fat already 2)I didn't have cajun seasoning, so I used creole seasoning 3) I added more cayenne because it really wasn't very spicey for our tastes 4) After frying the meat, I threw everything into a crock pot on low for 3 to 4 hrs or high for 1 to 2 hrs 5) I always substitute celery salt for celery. With my minor changes, it was excellent and has gone into our regular rotation of meals :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2004
Very tasty, lots of flavor but very HOT! Added 1/2 cup roux and there was alot of fat on top end of simmering so I skimmed it off. If I were making this again, I would add only 1 tsp of Cayenne Pepper and forget adding the 1/2 cup of oil. You can thicken this without adding all the fat. A side dish of sweet corn and white rice mellows out the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECMEISTER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2001
This is a very delicious recipe. My toddlers will not eat it because of the cajun seasoning but we are making it again when we have company over. We like to serve it with rice. Boneless chicken would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2003
This would have been very good with NO red pepper. I LIVE in Louisiana and this was WAY too hot for me. I only put in half of the red pepper that it called for. My husband could not finish his and he normally LOVES cajun food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Deridder, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2003
I LOVE this recipe. Made it last week and will do it again and again and again. I cut up boneless thighs and sausages in cubes to shorten the cooking time (instead of putting the whole chicken thighs). Recipe is very easy and end result is incredibly tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2003
We loved it, but the kids didn't. I would have made it more spicy for us but then the kids wouldn't have touched it. I'll save it for adults only...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
This was good. I listened to other reviewers and halved the cayenne. I think it was still spicy enough to please those that like some heat in their meal. I used a little more than half of the roux and after an hour and a half of simmering, there was very little liquid left. Next time I'll use less roux.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nevada City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
Yum! I added a green pepper, threw it in my pressure cooker for 5 minutes & had dinner ready in 30 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2002
Excellent flavoring!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Caramel Chicken

Try Chef John’s version of a wildly popular Vietnamese dish.

Creamy Parmesan & Sun-Dried Tomato Chicken Penne

See time-saving tips for a quick-and-easy chicken penne pasta dinner.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States