Chicken Fricassee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
We LOVED this dish. We have had it twice in the past few weeks, and it is still wonderful. I did change a few things: 1) I didn't use any oil and just mixed the flour with some water as I thought the chicken thighs and sausage had enough fat already 2)I didn't have cajun seasoning, so I used creole seasoning 3) I added more cayenne because it really wasn't very spicey for our tastes 4) After frying the meat, I threw everything into a crock pot on low for 3 to 4 hrs or high for 1 to 2 hrs 5) I always substitute celery salt for celery. With my minor changes, it was excellent and has gone into our regular rotation of meals :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
Great, Great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimbrough (frog)

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
I made this and people said it was great. They said the chicken was really tender and very good. I also added some frozen mixed vegetables. The only problem I had with it is that there was so much oil and fat. I tried to skim it off, but there was a lot still there. I think that if I make this again, I will make the roux with water and also drain the fat off the chicken and the sausage. I think chopped tomatoes would also be good in this. Otherwise this was a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2005
my family did not like this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
My husband and I LOVED this recipe. It has an excellent flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elk City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mustang, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
I enjoyed this recipe, and I will probably make it again. However, I do have a disclaimer--I used HALF of the cayenne pepper called for, and it was still pretty darn hot. I would suggest adding the spices a little at a time, tasting the broth after each addition, until you have it as hot as you want it. Another note: I bought bone-in chicken thighs and boiled them ahead of time with some Old Bay Seasoning. When I discovered how hot the stuff was going to be, I added some of the leftover broth to the mixture to cool it down. When we were eating, I realized that I could taste a strong chickeny/Old Bay flavor from the broth, and I just don't think that the recipe would've been as good without it. So, next time I'll probably just use cups of broth instead of water to make it a heartier dish. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
Very good over rice!!! Very flavorful, chicken falls right off the bone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2004
Very tasty, lots of flavor but very HOT! Added 1/2 cup roux and there was alot of fat on top end of simmering so I skimmed it off. If I were making this again, I would add only 1 tsp of Cayenne Pepper and forget adding the 1/2 cup of oil. You can thicken this without adding all the fat. A side dish of sweet corn and white rice mellows out the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECMEISTER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
This was easy to make and tasted great. I adjusted the red pepper after reading the other reviews ( my husband has acid reflux) and it was still tasty and spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
This Recipe Was Very Good, I'm 17 And Did This Recipe It Was Very Easy And Fast. If I Could Cook This Anyone Can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci Erin Hunter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Parmesan & Sun-Dried Tomato Chicken Penne

See time-saving tips for a quick-and-easy chicken penne pasta dinner.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States