Chicken French - Rochester, NY Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I'm the author of this recipe and just made this again tonight, to celebrate. Yes, the sauce can be doubled, especially if you'd like the sauce on the rice. As far as egg/cheese/sugar mixture goes. I've never had a problem with it sticking to the flour-dredged chicken. Not sure why it didn't work for Lavendertatoo. I figure if it worked for Julia Child, it should work for anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
I thought this was a very good version on chicken french. Living in Rochester there are slight variations to the recipe and taste but for the most part this hit the nail on the head. I would suggest using a white wine sauce if you want a lighter sauce. Also possibly doubling up on the sauce since there isn't alot. Next time I make this, I will be sure to make a double amount of sauce. Several people also take fresh lemons, slice them and saute them in the sauce as well for a more Lemony flavor. Overall, Great recipe. I also suggest pounding out the chicken. the thinner it is, the better for this recipe. At least in my opinion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Very good! I live in Rochester and have ordered chicken french all over the city for years. I doubled the sauce, and used a bit more sherry and butter, that's just my taste. I also used chicken stock because I didn't have base. I deglazed the pan with the sherry before adding the rest of the sauce ingredients. I also like the chicken on the thin side, so I pounded it thin. Maybe the reviewer who had the problem with the coating didn't dust off all the extra flour? Great recipe, do you have one for greens and beans Roc style?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Complete disaster. The flour/egg combination fell off of the chicken as it cooked. So basically we got plain chicken with browned omelette. I thought something seemed off when the recipe called for putting the flour on first and then putting on the egg mixture. I should have followed my gut instinct and done it the other way around. I will never make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
The only difference I made was to season the chicken directly instead of mixing in with the flour. This was a quick meal and it was delicious! My husband kept saying over and over that "this recipes is a hit!" Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Antoinette Katora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Point, New York, USA
Living In: East Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Just like the restaurant! Was surprised at how nicely the egg batter stayed on the chicken breasts. I doubled the sauce, reduced the butter by half (I like this dish a bit on the lemony side) and added flour to thicken it a bit. Served over fettuccini. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uniontown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
LOVE this recipe. My only complaint is the recipe calls to "cook until no longer pink" twice, causing for over cooked chicken if you're not careful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I LOVE Chicken French Live in Rochester and have tried it all over town. This is a very good Recipe. I myself Mix the Lemon Juice and sugar together and sweeten to taste. I cook the chicken as done in first part. For second part I use a Riesling or Chardonnay instead of Dry Sherry.I use a good quality Box wine.( Always nice to have some around for drinking.) Heat on Low/med heat. Add chicken to pan. Then add the Wine next Lemon/sugar mix. Next add good amount of Butter on top Cover When butter is melted Dish is done! Excellent Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
Easy & good. For my tastes I'll drop the sugar to a teaspoon next time. Used 2 chicken breasts pounded thin, and still needed to double the sauce. Served with jasmine rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Loved it! I doubled the sauce and added extra chicken stock so I'd have enough to put over egg noodles. I finished it in the oven covered in sauce rather than the pan for timing reasons. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

How to Make Chicken Parmesan

Discover the secret to Chef John’s perfect chicken parmesan.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States