Chicken French - Rochester, NY Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
As a Rochester, NY native, I have to say this was perfect! It's my favorite dish to order at restaurants and I have not been able to replicate it...until now! It took about an hour to make and I doubled the sauce, as others suggested. I also added a bit more lemon juice to taste. I "frenched up" some frozen broccoli along with it and served it over thin spaghetti. Whole family at it up! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This recipe is fabulous! This replicates the chicken french you order out in town. In fact it's better than what most restaurants present. I trim the boneless breasts and pound them until they are an even 1/2 inch thick.To quicken the process I sometimes substitute seasoned pan searing flour before dipping in the egg wash. I use drinking sherry from a regional vineyard and fresh lemon juice and always double the sauce recipe. So grateful rocgrandma shared this! This is my husband's favorite meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
My family said "make it again!" The only things I did differently were to use the juice of one fresh lemon in place of the lemon juice - I mixed half with the beaten egg and half in the sauce. I dipped first in the egg/lemon and then in the flour mixture. I added a bit of flour and water mixture to thicken the sauce before returning the chicken to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA
Living In: Macedon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
I'm from Rochester and always loved ordering this in resturants. This recipe is delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Fabulous! I've been trying to find a recipe that tastes like the restaurants and finally, I have. Made this tonight and was more than pleased. I, too, doubled the sauce portion as I wanted more, but otherwise followed the recipe to the letter. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Warsaw, New York, USA
Living In: Kenmore, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
This was excellent and easy to make. I have to admit, I'm from Rochester, NY, and I've never ordered this in a restaurant. I have no idea what is different from Rochester vs. other places. (Someone would have to tell me.) The family loved this recipe. It's a keeper. I used a mallot on the chicken breasts to get a more consistent thickness; this is a personal thing for me. I also had to fry for less time (probably because of the thickness). The flavor was very good. I may try some of the other suggestions listed in the review next time, but still ok as-is for our clan! Thanks RocGrandma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoldenCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Webster, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
WOW!!! Made this for dinner tonight and it was a BIG hit!! Reminds me of a restaurant I worked at years ago & this was one of their specialties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
I have made this recipe over and over and over...I LOVE it when I use tilapia...still love it with chicken. I use about half the chicken broth but taste taste taste while you cook. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Awesome ! ! ! Love it .. love it... love it.. I will make this again. My family and I enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
absolutly delish ...thanks for the recipe....sincerely fellow rochesterian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzalizzalizza

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic chicken dish with a tart lemon-butter sauce.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States