Chicken French - Rochester, NY Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
This is a wonderful recipe and technique. I grew up near Rochester, and this recipe hits the nail on the head! I used thin sliced pork chop and it was just as good. Thank you for sharing! It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Excellent recipe. I used white cooking wine instead of sherry, since I had that on hand, and I tripled the sauce so there was plenty to put over angel hair pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Love this! It is a Rochester favorite! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
One of my favorites. A never-fail guest pleaser. My healthy modifications: no sugar, use grapeseed oil instead of butter, garnish with capers and lemon zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fred Guevara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Granville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Great flavor but a little too much lemon and I used a decent Chardonnay instead of sherry I agree with other readers..make more sauce...next time I will make the sauce using the same amount of lemon but will triple the garlic, wine, butter and chicken broth. No problem with sticking at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
I needed a quick dinner for Valentine's Day and this was it! I had another recipe that I'd used before but was never quite happy with it, so I came here to search for better one. And did I ever find it! I, too live in Rochester and didn't realize that Chicken French was a regional dish. I doubled the sauce and used the white wine I had in the pantry--DELICIOUS. Before tasting it, my 2 year old asked for "atchup" for his chicken...one bite and he forgot ALL about wanting ketchup. :-) I served it with basmati rice and steamed broccoli. I'm so glad to have found this recipe--we're having friends over for dinner in a few days and I'm going to make artichokes french for our appetizer. Thank you, rocgrandma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
As a Rochester, NY native, I have to say this was perfect! It's my favorite dish to order at restaurants and I have not been able to replicate it...until now! It took about an hour to make and I doubled the sauce, as others suggested. I also added a bit more lemon juice to taste. I "frenched up" some frozen broccoli along with it and served it over thin spaghetti. Whole family at it up! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This recipe is fabulous! This replicates the chicken french you order out in town. In fact it's better than what most restaurants present. I trim the boneless breasts and pound them until they are an even 1/2 inch thick.To quicken the process I sometimes substitute seasoned pan searing flour before dipping in the egg wash. I use drinking sherry from a regional vineyard and fresh lemon juice and always double the sauce recipe. So grateful rocgrandma shared this! This is my husband's favorite meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
My family said "make it again!" The only things I did differently were to use the juice of one fresh lemon in place of the lemon juice - I mixed half with the beaten egg and half in the sauce. I dipped first in the egg/lemon and then in the flour mixture. I added a bit of flour and water mixture to thicken the sauce before returning the chicken to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA
Living In: Macedon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
I'm from Rochester and always loved ordering this in resturants. This recipe is delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic chicken dish with a tart lemon-butter sauce.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States