Chicken French - Rochester, NY Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Grew up in Rochester and this was definitely delicious spot on--big hit at my house! I served it over linguine which is how I always order it at restaurants. Same with a few others who commented, the instructions said to cook until no longer pink twice, which could make it overcooked if you are just reading line by line. Overall authentic and yummy... I'll definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Sounds like 1-star "complete disaster" oil wasn't hot enough. Oil that isn't hot enough will cause the coating to coagulate and sort of blob off. Cutlet cooking is a bit tricky. The oil has to be just right, not too hot, not too tepid. Otherwise, the recipe is a winner (though I don't add the sugar). Proud that it's a hometown recipe too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
This is the best chicken French recipe I've found to date. I usually make MUCH more sauce than directed (increasing the sherry and lemon juice, and also adding some pasta water) so that there is enough to coat pasta on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin O

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
This is an amazing recipe. My family devoured it, I agree with the other reviews that it is a restaurant quality recipe. I didn't have lemons so I got creative as opposed to going to the grocery store and used some left over lemon pie filling that I was looking to do something with. Sweetness didn't effect overall taste. I tripled the sauce and served over angel hair pasta. Sometimes you just have to ad- lib and this was a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
This was very good and unique, thanks! Also doubled the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eating Indy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
I'm from Rochester and get this every time I come home. You can't get Chicken French in NC! THANK YOU SO MUCH for this FANTASTIC "taste of home" recipe!!! You nailed it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
As a Midwesterner transplanted in Colorado for the last 13 years, I'd never even heard of Chicken French. I saw a recent review, scanned the recipe ingredients, and was immediately intrigued. I followed the recipe fairly closely, only deviating slightly by doing the dredge of flour/egg/flour and pan-frying the chicken just once. I also added both onion and garlic powders into the flour. After making the sauce, I simply spooned a bit over each piece before serving so I could preserve the slightly crunchy coating of the chicken. My only preference for next time is to slightly reduce the lemon juice (I used freshly squeezed). DH and 5 year-old DD ate this up. Served with roasted green beans (also an AR recipe) and wild rice, this was a deliciously filling Sunday dinner. Thanks for sharing this regional favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
PERFECTION. EASY. No problems at all or like other reviewers mentioned. I used white white instead of sherry...came out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheChaoticChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Penfield, New York, USA
Living In: Walworth, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
This is a wonderful recipe and technique. I grew up near Rochester, and this recipe hits the nail on the head! I used thin sliced pork chop and it was just as good. Thank you for sharing! It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Excellent recipe. I used white cooking wine instead of sherry, since I had that on hand, and I tripled the sauce so there was plenty to put over angel hair pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

How to Make Chicken Parmesan

Discover the secret to Chef John’s perfect chicken parmesan.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States