Chicken French - Rochester, NY Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Holy cow! I knew this was going to be good but this is actually fabulous!!! I did not Add any sugar I do not like any sugar in my sauces. it's tart, buttery, it's phenomenal I can't wait to make it again I had no trouble making the crust on the chicken :-) :-) :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The-FairLady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Everyone in my family liked this a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Swinton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
easy and awesome, as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arkport, New York, USA
Living In: Lock Haven, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I also live in Rochester as do many of the reviewers. The only thing I do differently is that I do not use any sugar. I also use about 1/2 cup chicken broth and 3/4 cup sherry so that we have extra to put over angel hair. I use Wegmans searing flour instead of regular flour and don't add any salt or pepper because it's in the flour already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Amazing! Upped garlic, didn't measure... But we love garlic! Used chicken tenders instead and better than bouillon as chicken base. Doubled sauce per other reviews. Delicious and easy to make! Highly recommend'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
I have made this many times and love it. As always, be careful not to burn the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pecatonica, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
I am from Rochester, and have had this meal out all over the place without realizing it is identified with the area. My kids have had it out and liked it, so I thought they would like it at home as well. I tried this recipe last week, and the whole family loved it. I even substituted Tofu for chicken for my wife who doesn't eat meat. Everyone was really pleased. I had no problem with the flour coating coming off. I suppose one could reverse the flour and the egg, but with the natural moisture of chicken, one does not need to. In fact, it is the egg coating sticking to the flour that gives it the special texture, (a little like a crepe coated chicken breast.) That is why every recipe I have seen for Chicken French calls for the dredging first and THEN the dipping in the egg mixture. The first time I followed the recipe, the coating stayed on very well. If the pan is not adequately coated with oil or is too hot, it might cause the coating to stick. Regardless, it is the sauce that really gives it the special flavor. I did not have dry white wine or sherry available, so I used cooking Marsala wine. Halfway between chicken Marsala and chicken French. I think that made it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandman5756

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Grew up in Rochester and this was definitely delicious spot on--big hit at my house! I served it over linguine which is how I always order it at restaurants. Same with a few others who commented, the instructions said to cook until no longer pink twice, which could make it overcooked if you are just reading line by line. Overall authentic and yummy... I'll definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Sounds like 1-star "complete disaster" oil wasn't hot enough. Oil that isn't hot enough will cause the coating to coagulate and sort of blob off. Cutlet cooking is a bit tricky. The oil has to be just right, not too hot, not too tepid. Otherwise, the recipe is a winner (though I don't add the sugar). Proud that it's a hometown recipe too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
This is the best chicken French recipe I've found to date. I usually make MUCH more sauce than directed (increasing the sherry and lemon juice, and also adding some pasta water) so that there is enough to coat pasta on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin O

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic chicken dish with a tart lemon-butter sauce.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

How to Make Chicken Parmesan

Discover the secret to Chef John’s perfect chicken parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States