Chicken Florentine Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
I thought this was a very good base recipe but I did make some changes. Before I say what I changed I first want to say: thank you, Christopher, for sharing a very good recipe using chicken and brown rice. (1) Used 2-1/2 cups chicken broth instead of 2 cups water/bouillon; (2) I used regular rice, not instant, so cooked it in the chicken broth on the stovetop for about 20 mins (3) I added salt and black pepper to the chicken when I cooked it (4) I don't use margarine so did not put it on top. While the taste was great, neither I nor my family thought it looked very good and none of us would have tried it we saw it at a potluck. I will definitely make this again but will add about a cup of coarsely chopped canned tomatoes for a more appetizing appearance and sprinkle 1/2 ounce of grated cheddar on top of each serving just before I put it on the table, also for appearance sake. If you like rice, chicken, and spinach, try this. Honestly, I wasn't sure how the cottage cheese would be in it but the consistency was very, very good. Thanks again, Christopher!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
Great meal - I did make a few changes: Cooked 1 1/2 cups of non-instant brown rice in veggie broth (that's what I had), added a couple handfuls of mozzarella to the mix, added one egg to the cottage cheese, and left out the cornstarch (didn't think it was really needed). I also diced my chicken before cooking it for ease. Lastly, I topped the dish with thick slices of tomatoes + parmesan for the last 20+ min of cooking. It was great - definitely a keeper. And it's ultra-amazing if you add Cholula Hot Sauce once it's served (if spicy is your thing).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ENOXALLEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2002
This was a fabulous recipe! My family and staff at work loved it. I added white wine when cooking the chicken. I also added some swiss cheese to the casserole before baking. It came out great. When reheating the next day, I added a little more wine to make sure it didn't dry out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
This recipe was a hit. I don't understand those who said this dish did not have enough flavor. They must have used old spices. I too used chicken broth instead of bullion. I also added a tsp of salt and some rosemary. Instead of Parmesan, I used Monteray Jack cheese. This will definitely be served again in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salmon, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
I liked this, and I was very sceptical of the cottage cheese, but it turned out really well. I used chicken broth instead of water in addition to the bullion cubes, so the rice had a good flavor. Next time I will substitute brocolli for the spinich, and add some crushed crutons to the top in the last 15 minutes or so. I lvoe the way the chicken turned out cooked with all those spices, and even made a couple of plain chicken breasts for later in the week with the same spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2001
This was a great casserole. It was very flavorful and also filling. I didn't have Parmesan cheese, so I sprinkled it with feta during the last 15 minutes of baking. Yum! By the way, it would be really easy to substitute mushrooms for the chicken and have a vegetarian dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belmont, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
I love florentines, but they are usually so high fat that I don't make. This has less than HALF THE FAT of most (see "Chicken Florentine Casserole" on this site)and more fiber. I will be making this one often. I made exactly as written, and family enjoyed the flavor and didn't even suspect there was cottage cheese (I used lowfat) in it. Thank you Chris523, for sharing this lowfat, high protein, and some-healthy-fiber, terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
This is a really simple, good recipe that can be altered to taste, which is something I really like. I didn't have enough spinach the first time, so I used half spinach and half broccoli. I also used more parmesan cheese. This time I'm going to use all spinach and add a bit of nutmeg and some mushrooms. By the way, cube the chicken first then cook it... I think it's easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VICTORIAJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
This was a good, healthier casserole option. I did a couple things differently based on the things I had. I used regular brown rice and cooked it according to the package. I also used fresh spinach instead of frozen, which I stirred into the hot rice. I had cooked chopped chicken so I added that and seasoned the whole thing with italian seasoning and black pepper. Also, I sauteed garlic with the onion and skipped the margarine altogether. Thanks so much for sharing- I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
Made this delicious recipe for dinner last night. My southern born husband is a huge fan of highly spiced foods so I was surprised when he said this dish was perfect as is and asked that it be made in the future. I agree that those e thinking this is bland need to purchase new spices. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States