Chicken Florentine Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
I thought this was a very good base recipe but I did make some changes. Before I say what I changed I first want to say: thank you, Christopher, for sharing a very good recipe using chicken and brown rice. (1) Used 2-1/2 cups chicken broth instead of 2 cups water/bouillon; (2) I used regular rice, not instant, so cooked it in the chicken broth on the stovetop for about 20 mins (3) I added salt and black pepper to the chicken when I cooked it (4) I don't use margarine so did not put it on top. While the taste was great, neither I nor my family thought it looked very good and none of us would have tried it we saw it at a potluck. I will definitely make this again but will add about a cup of coarsely chopped canned tomatoes for a more appetizing appearance and sprinkle 1/2 ounce of grated cheddar on top of each serving just before I put it on the table, also for appearance sake. If you like rice, chicken, and spinach, try this. Honestly, I wasn't sure how the cottage cheese would be in it but the consistency was very, very good. Thanks again, Christopher!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
It sounded promising, but totally lacked flavor. Even with all the herbs, this was so bland and boring. The cooking time seems a bit long, unless you like dried-out rice and overcooked spinach. Leftovers are in the trash, and I hate wasting food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CandiceSteele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Higashi-Omi, Shiga, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
I liked this, and I was very sceptical of the cottage cheese, but it turned out really well. I used chicken broth instead of water in addition to the bullion cubes, so the rice had a good flavor. Next time I will substitute brocolli for the spinich, and add some crushed crutons to the top in the last 15 minutes or so. I lvoe the way the chicken turned out cooked with all those spices, and even made a couple of plain chicken breasts for later in the week with the same spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lolita Contreras Murrah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
I Just made this for a group of 50, and so far nothing but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2005
This recipe is a huge hit in my family. Everytime my folks come to visit, they request this dish. As with most recipes I use, I did add some things for flavor like chopped baby bella mushrooms, cheddar cheese, dashes of my fave seasonings, and soaking the spinach in seasoned water before adding it to the mixture. I also serve it with a roast chicken gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
I'm sorry, but I just did not care for this recipe. I was really expecting to like it a lot, mostly because I just love spinach, but was rather disappointed. I did make some changes: added some sun-dried tomatoes, substituted Marsala wine for some of the water, and used leftover turkey breast meat instead of chicken. Quite frankly, without the sun-dried tomatoes, I think the dish would have been a total loss. Other than lack of flavor, another big problem was that, after one hour in the oven, the spinach looked and tasted overcooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
Very tasty! My husband even loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenda Kelly Ducote

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
My husband and I really enjoyed this recipe, and neither of us like cottage cheese! It's pretty healthy and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2004
Both my hubby and I thought this was delish! We did have to change a couple ingredients to use what was on hand... we used fresh herbs instead of dried, white rice instead of brown, vegetable boullion instead of chicken and lowfat cottage cheese. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2004
This is a nice "everyday" recipe, nothing spectacular, but worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States