Chicken Florentine Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I really like this, so does my husband! But I do make one major change. I use skim ricotta in place of the cottage cheese. I just can't bring myself to cook with cottage cheese! Otherwise very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
This is excellent. I couldn't follow it to a T as I 'didn't have or had only' - but this recipe itself rocks. And I know it stands on it's own. For me tonight, I used fresh: thyme, flat leaf parsley, cilantro and dill. I omitted the sage and marjoram. Instead of one cup of tap water for the cornstarch I used the water that came off of the cooked chicken and it was nearly a full cup. I added the cornstarch to a small amount of cold water before adding it to the broth. I also used regular brown rice in my rice cooker according to machine instructions. I know it's going to taste even yummier tomorrow...if there's any left! Thank you, Chris!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
This was pretty good as is but I think I will try again and add some additional suggested items. (I skipped the cornstarch step and that add'l liquid. The result was a bit dry.) I think adding mushrooms and white wine would be good. I also like the sliced tomato and feta crumbles sound good. I will use again.Thanks Christopher!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Hess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Very, very good Christopher! Like the others who reviewed this recipe, I ended up making just a few changes to it. I diced the chicken before I sauteed it, used regular brown rice cooked with chicken broth, added sliced mushrooms and since I didn't have any marjoram, I decided to add allspice intead. Allspice really added that little extra something something that you can't quite make out, but it tastes wonderful........next time, I might add a little nutmeg instead and give it a Greek flair. This recipe is definitely a keeper that I will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
This was a very disappointing recipe. I followed it exactly but despite all the spices, I found it to be flavorless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glenwood, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I thought this was outstanding, the only change I made was I topped it with a thin layer of mozzarella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Very tasty- The next day I added a can of chopped green chilies and 3 chopped fresh jalepenos,which gave it some interest. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenlawn, New York, USA
Living In: Pierson, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
I used cream cheese instead of cottage cheese, which worked great. I only put in half of what the recipe called for. Also, I drizzled the olive oil and herbs on the chicken then baked them instead of pan cooking. I skipped the margarine and it was still very rich and flavorfu. Thanks for the great recipe, Chriss523. My husband loved it too. I'll make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
This is a great recipe. I used non-instant rice, which may have been why it made so much. I'd suggest if you are making for two that you put it in multiple dishes and freeze what you aren't going to eat immediately. Also good as a breakfast when you add a couple of eggs on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
I love florentines, but they are usually so high fat that I don't make. This has less than HALF THE FAT of most (see "Chicken Florentine Casserole" on this site)and more fiber. I will be making this one often. I made exactly as written, and family enjoyed the flavor and didn't even suspect there was cottage cheese (I used lowfat) in it. Thank you Chris523, for sharing this lowfat, high protein, and some-healthy-fiber, terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States