Chicken Florentine Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
I thought this was a very good recipe although I did make a few alterations. I used 6 chicken breast halves for 6 people (in hindsight 4 would have been plenty) and cut them into big cubes. I didn't cook them ahead of time but put them raw on top of the veg and I doubled the sauce. I used two 'boxes' of organic baby spinach but it sure didn't look like much when slightly cooked so I added one big head of broccoli cut into tiny florets. I made my own Italian seasoning from a recipe on this website and had to cook it longer to get the chicken cubes in the centre of the pan cooked. I kept a close eye on it after 45 minutes to be sure the chicken was not overlooked. We served it on gluten-free penne pasta with a tossed salad. I kept all the ingredients (except for the broc) and proportions the same so the changes I made didn't really change the flavour or tone of the recipe but just made it easier to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Leamington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Tillsonburg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SeeJae
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
It was good, but could use some changes for my taste buds. My fiance loved it. We followed the recipe minus the fresh mushrooms, as I don't like them. The dish itself was very rich, so I had a hard time finishing it. Made noodles on the side which I will not do again - it wasn't a good combination. Think next time we make it, I will use cream of chicken soup instead of mushroom, less spinach, and serve it with garlic bread. Overall, a good recipe that we'll use again with a few changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Delicious!!!! Next time we will serve over rice or noodles, there is a lot of sauce left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I'm more of a "beef" man myself, however, this was "off the hook"!! The sauce was a bit thick so I invoked a little southern ingenuity...I added some beer...extra mushrooms and fresh spinach!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Sprinkle
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
My family loves this - and it is super easy to do. Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Amazingly delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Loved it will make again. Next time I will use frozen spinach just bc I think it has a better texture. Loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Downing

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
Just didn't care for this. My son wouldn't even try it and he usually loves things like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Awsome recipe, loved it! I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Wakefield, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I used shrimp instead of chicken, sautéed the spinach and mushrooms in white wine as another user suggested. Since I really don't do diary used coconut creamer and trader joes box cream of mushroom soup, mixed in remaining liquid from sautéing the spinach and mushroom along with the recipe's sauce ingredients...used a little cornstarch to thicken it and mixed shrimp in the sauce the poured over the spinach and mushroom mix in a baking pan. Came out really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camille Barzey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,589) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

Broccoli Chicken Casserole I

See how to make a creamy baked chicken and broccoli casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States