Chicken Florentine Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I made this for family dinner and it was a hit. I followed the basic recipe but made the following tweaks: I sauteed a shallot and 3-4 minced garlic cloves then added the spinach and mushrooms to sautee. I then put the spinach mixture in the baking dish and then added the uncooked chicken breasts. Proceeded with the rest of the recipe and baked for about 45min at 400 degrees. Chicken was very juicy. Topped it with fresh chopped basil. Added a lot of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Folsom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Great recipe...used the method by VICSGARDEN and it was perfect! Definitely will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Adler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
My husband and I loved this recipe. I made fresh bacon crumbles, and low-sodium mushroom soup. It was great. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Philpot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Good recipe...my notes say that no changes are needed from original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ewing, Missouri, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I drained, squeezed then dried spinach on towels and it still turned the entire casserole soupy! I'm bummed..... I was soooo excited and it smelled great, but turned to green soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B.j. Blevins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
I work late occasionally and decided to throw everything in the crockpot this morning, but I only had fresh spinach and real bacon. I'm very pleased with how it turned out! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
The sauce in this casserole is fantastic. I replaced the half-an-half with heavy cream because it comes in a smaller carton (less leftover)! I tried the canned spinach and it was kind of nasty - use 10 oz thawed frozen instead (or fresh). I doubled the mushrooms and used Morning Star bacon strips (soy) which are better than bacon bits. Like other reviewers, I simplified by cubing the raw chicken (I used 1 lb) and sauteing it with the mushrooms. Then I added the sauce ingredients and 1 cup of the mozzarella. I baked for 20 minutes at 350, topped with the other cup of mozzarella and baked for 10 more minutes. I'm not a huge fan of spinach, so I tried it with broccoli once, but it just didn't work. Tried it with pasta as well, but I thought it detracted from the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plattsburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Tolland, Connecticut, USA
Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I loved it. Followed Vicsgarden's review and skipped the first step of baking the chicken. Sauteed the mushrooms and chopped fresh baby spinach with some garlic. Poured into the bottom of the baking dish then topped with chicken breasts, poured sauce over then topped with parm cheeese. I didn't have mozzarella on hand. I really enjoyed it. Served with angel hair pasta with peeled and chopped tomatoes plus some finely chopped garlic. Rave reviews! In my regular rotation, thank you Bryan0320!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Our family didn't enjoy this meal. I even did as the others suggested and sautéd the spinich and mushrooms and put that on the bottom of the dish, also I cooked my chicken breasts in the crock pot, so they were super tender and then come dinner time I just had to do the remaining steps. Almost towards the end of the oven cooking, I broiled it for a few minutes so it made a nice crust on the top (not too much! Just enough to add a little texture) and even with those few added elements, it just wasn't a winner for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
This would have been 5 stars (and I'm sure it deserves it) but I took the advice of many of the previous reviewers when it came to cooking times and pre-baking the chicken at 350° (step #1) vs skipping step #1 and simply baking it raw as part of the final dish. Everything else I followed exactly as spelled out in the original recipe (Oops... I also used real crumbled bacon as opposed to bacon bits). I will make this again because even though the chicken wasn't cooked completely, I was able to nuke it long enough to finish the job and the taste was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tietjen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,575) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Broccoli Chicken Casserole I

See how to make a creamy baked chicken and broccoli casserole.

Chicken Noodle Casserole I

See how to make a terrific weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States