Chicken Florentine Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2004
My 6 year old rated it "delicious". I made two changes. I was running short of time and used Bertolli's Portebello wine and cream sauce from a jar instead of making the sauce as listed. I also used fresh baby spinach instead of canned spinach. Both of these changes really cut down on the ammount of salt (which as listed is astronomical) and made a really really good dinner. Served with noodles and corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2004
My husband, who is not a big chicken fan, loved this recipe. I have e-mailed to many of my friends and will definately put this on my holiday casserole list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2004
This was sooo easy to make and the family just loved it, even the picky eaters. I used fresh spinach from the garden and it worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2004
This recipe is one of the very best. My family is quite picky and everyone loved it, including me. I did sprinkle the chicken breasts with Italian seasoning when I put them in the oven to bake. I do think that I am going to try fresh spinach leaves next time. This made such a wonderful meal to serve to my family, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2004
My family all liked this recipe! Two of us thought the Italian seasoning should be cut in half, the other two liked it as is. We increased the amount of sauce a little so as to serve it over rice. We used fresh frozen mushrooms and fresh spinage and it turned out great. A little salty but that may be because we used fresh cooked bacon. Definately a "keeper" recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2004
I made this dish for dinner and I thought it was pretty good. I read the other reviews and decided to reduce the salt by buying low soduim bacon. The flavor was good, but if I made it again I would definately use fresh spinach or reduce the amount of canned spinach. Two 13.5 oz cans is a lot of greenery for a 9x9" baking dish. I would also increase the amount of sauce (by adding a little homemade white sauce--not more canned soup) so it could be served over noodles or rice without adding to the salt content. I would also sautee the mushrooms a smidgen--or slice them a bit thinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2004
Very good and very rich. I used breasts with rib meat and browned in butter/olive oil then baked them 25 minutes. I also used fresh spinach wilted in olive oil and lemon juice. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Biddeford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2004
Instead of the condensed mushroom soup, I used about a cup of Trader Joe's Portabello Mushroom soup with this and only a 1/4 cup of half and half. Served it at a MOMS club luncheon and everyone loved it. Served it with brown jasmine rice. Excellent dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Patchogue, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2004
This is great! I made a few adjustments though- I added extra italian seasoning and browned the chicken breasts in olive oil and garlic instead of baking them. It sealed in the juices and made the chicken much more tender. I also used fresh baby spinich instead of canned. Fresher is always better. And I used a blend of parmesean, asagio and romano cheese. I think next time I am going to only use 1 cup of mozzerella instead of the 2 called for. I think it was too much. Made it really thick and not as gooey as I would have liked. My husband loved it. This is good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2004
This recipe was just 'ok'. I made it and froze it ahead of time. It was REALLY watery and really salty--and I even got out as much liquid from the spinach as I could before I layered everything. It was decent, but not my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,587) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

Broccoli Chicken Casserole I

See how to make a creamy baked chicken and broccoli casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States